A Teenager's Diary

in #reading6 years ago

My mom in college

My mom likes to read. It is not strange to see her get engroosed with a book and she spends most time sitting and immersed in the magic of reading.

She's always interested in getting updated, so from time to time, she loves participating in a talk or workshop related to her work. But when I got to find out about that, I was back in college and it seems strange to me. I didn't get the idea until I realize it was true, it's rare to see your mom "doing homework" or practicing a theme for an exhibition.
For her first day of school she looked excited, during lunch she commented that she knew she would be sacrificing time but it was worth trying. My stepfather was worried because he understood that now things would be neglected in the house, but my mother defended her position and emphasized that she would manage to accomplish everything.
That night I waited attentively for her to know, just as she does with me when I started something new. She wanted me to tell me about her "first day of school," because I thought she would be surrounded by young people who might not have anything to do with her interests. She told me that everything was fine, that she had been assigned to a very good group and that she was motivated to continue.

The university has an unconventional method, it's called the University of the Third Age. My mother says that people from 25 years old attend and it's rewarding to see up to 60 years old. They only attend one day a week and they receive one subject per month. They are all adults who work and have families trained and the great majority, like my mother, is taking a second university degree.
Because my mom works a lot, sometimes she calls me to help her while she's at home and researches a topic on the Internet, prepares a presentation, or looks for pictures to support a topic. It feels good to help her, I remember when I was very young and she was in charge of doing the same so that I would look good in my class. There is no doubt that fate is unpredictable. I never thought that at fifteen years of age I was going to help my mother with her homework. It sounds strange, but what a great satisfaction it feels.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64623.67
ETH 3421.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51