Night Owl

in #re-post7 years ago (edited)



young boy and sister, barely more than toddlers are flying along the spin axis of a hollowed out asteroid. the zero gravity portion is netted off so that they cannot wander into gravity. Their homes are IN gravity carved out of the walls of the asteroid.



boy...I’m bored.
girl...let’s go visit gramps

so they fly to a pole, land, stow their wings and vacumn tube home.
“mamma’ the boy said
“can we go visit gramps” the girl said

‘yes you can’ said the mother ‘but you MAY not until you call him.

etc etc etc...
Virtual Reality visit.
gramps IS a boat exploring the submerged continental shelf with drones.
the water is much shallower now due to the glaciers.



he takes time off to visit with his g’g’g’g’g’ grandkids
he tells them a story about owls.



I’m a nightowl.
I prefer the night.
I’ve got a contra-circadian metabolism.
I like the dark

When I was a child growing up,
I got my first job
Delivering newspapers on a motorcycle.
Early to rise,
roll them all up.
and drive off on the bike..
they MUST be delivered by sunrise.
Old Coots who were my customers wanted
to read their newspapers with breakfast
and they got up early.
buncha retired farmers.
When I was done I took a nap
Then off to school


I’m a NightOwl.
I prefer the night.
I’ve got a contra-circadian metabolism.
I like the dark

I got a little older and got another job
Also
Why have one when you can have two?
I worked at a grain elevator after school.
Farmers can’t cut wheat when it’s wet
so they have to wait until it’s dried out
from the night’s dew before they start.
The trucks start rolling in about dark
My Job was to check the moisture content of the grain
and weigh them in,
and weigh them out.
but wait.
The grain leg went down
clogged up by too much dirt
and too much trash
I went down into the pit
to clean it all out.
In close confines and in the dark.
I din’t mind it one bit..

I’m a NightOwl.
I prefer the night.
I’ve got a contra-circadian metabolism.
I like the dark

Years later in the military over seas.
I drove a truck in an ammo dump built in a swamp.
To avoid the brass
and all that saluting and “yes sir’ and ‘ no sir”
I volunteered to work at night.

(Snakes...why did there have to be snakes?)
Snakes can’t out run a truck
but snakes can be run over by a truck
and I did.

Hauling bombs in the night.
Had to keep the Buffs fed.

I’m a NightOwl.
I prefer the night.
I’ve got a contra-circadian metabolism.
I like the dark

years later I cross trained.
Secret Stuff.
If I told you what it was I’d have to kill you.
deeep deep underground.
I kept the War Room running.



I’m a NightOwl.
I prefer the night.
I’ve got a contra-circadian metabolism.
I like the dark

A few years of that.
And overseas I go again
Desert island in the med.
Listen to what Ivan says
I worked the night shift.
Fixed the equipment when it broke.

I’m a NightOwl.
I prefer the night.
I’ve got a contra-circadian metabolism.
I like the dark

Home to the states once again
back to my first love.
driving a machine thru the night
over the road trucker for 30 years.
I drove at night.
Less traffic, less cops, less hassel.

I’m a NightOwl.
I prefer the night.
I’ve got a contra-circadian metabolism.
I like the dark

best time of the day is twilight.
Enough light to see by.
Not enough to blind.
twilight before the sun comes up
twilight after the sun goes down

I’m a NightOwl.
I prefer the night.
I’ve got a contra-circadian metabolism.
I like the dark

Three Score and ten of age.
Sight going dim
cataracts don’t you see
doesn’t bother me.

I’m a NightOwl.
I prefer the night.
I’ve got a contra-circadian metabolism.
I like the dark

...............working at the grain elevator
...........driving a truck at night
.........working night shift in the AF
.........working night shift in a warehouse
........driving a truck
................make note of height of sun.
.......twilight is the best time
.........three score and ten.
......cataracts
......don’t go quietly into the night NOT
Embrace the NIGHT...I’m a nightowl

Sort:  

Nice verse , great videos
thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62956.16
ETH 2588.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74