Sort:  

Thank you for re-sharing this story, it brought a tear to my eye...Just brings up the Human Need we all share for connection, for touch...how distanced we have all become from each other. In traditional society, we all had a place, we all knew our neighbours, we were included...

Thank you Lyndsay for commenting. I'm glad to hear you were touched by the story, probably as much as I was at the time it happened.

The small child was wearing dirty, ragged clothing, had longish, unkempt hair that seemed to not have been shampooed in a long time. I shall never forget her wide, yet sad eyes looking up at me.

in traditional society, we all had a place, we all knew our neighbours, we were included...

Yes, you are so right; our World has changed greatly in ways which are not all good.

Do you wish that you could have helped her?

Do you wish that you could have helped her?

I believe that, in a metaphysical way, I did help. As I stood in the doorway watching her being lead away, she kept turning her head to look at me with a soft expression on her face.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79