Win a Raspberry Pi

in #raspberrypi6 years ago

win-pi.jpg

There are not enough Raspberry Pi articles here lately so I want to help correct that with a prize.

Win this Raspberry Pi 3B+, new, boxed, including shipping (wherever in the world they will ship to, or we can make other arrangements).

Step 1 - How should I give it away?

Please post your suggestions for the fairest way I can run this prize giveaway.

  • What are the best ways to track entries and judge?

  • How can we make it fun?

  • Can we do this on a regular basis?

Please comment with your competition suggestions right here below!

Sort:  

Hi @makerhacks, you are right in that we could definitely do with more articles on our favourite fruit pie! And it is great that you are offering a very nice incentive for people to contribute to Steemit by taking the initiative.

I have seen and played a few games on Steemit (tried to host some myself too but not quite as successfully), so this is my two cent's worth:

  1. Easiest way to track entries seems to be either getting people to reply with comments to a competition post (with answers or links to their posts) or use a unique keyword combination (so you can use @ginabot or steemitworld.org to track entries submitted by participants as posts). Easiest way to judge seems to be by number of upvotes on entries, setting out a specific criteria of judging or using one or more guest judges.
  2. I think the most fun thing about a raspberry Pi is doing something or making something with it, so anything to do with coming up with new project ideas or things you have done with it will be fun (but this is not a new idea). But as we grow a community it will lead to some new and interesting ideas.
  3. We can and definitely should do this on a regular basis, and hopefully groups like @steemmakers and @thesteemhouse or @steemstem can also help contribute content for this topic so we can grow the community and maybe even create a separate group in the future :)

I will like to make this contribution @makerhacks

Acually raspberry post on steemit is very rare, i will say yours is the second, will love to see more post about raspberry but how can this be solved?

What are the best ways to track entries and judge?

I will say tracking entries is something that might not be a easy one but the best two ways that can be easy is to create a particular tag which they will make use of, and they can also drop their post link under your particular post. I think that will be easy enough. To judge may be some how hard, but the best way is to get someone who have ideas about raspberry, making use of bot to choose winner will make it look somehow and not interesting because it might choose post which may not be in line.

How can we make it fun?

How can it be fun, i think the best way is to make it as simple as you can imagine. When it is too hard to people to solve or participate in, it will drive them away.

Can we do this on a regular basis?

Doing this on regular basis may take lot of giveaway but on regular basis will be a good idea and it will give the minnow to have more chance to participate in it.

  • Confirm the best project request.
  • Give the project a chance to introduce
  • Make a lottery draw
  • Post results with video

And You are a perfect friend @makerhacks

Get a judge panel, and then have entrants submit ideas. The judges discuss and pick a winner.

How do you search for raspberrypi posts on SteemIt? I have posted 3 or 4 and if I click on raspberrypi tab at the bottom of your post my posts do not show up under trending, new, hot or promoted. Is there another way to search by tag?

Yeah that's how I would do it but I usually find fresh stuff using a bot I made that works a lot like @ginabot but is just mine :)

Thanks,
Yeah, I have @ginabot setup to notify me of raspberry pi mentions, but this only gives me newer posts with it in the body and not by tag. Maybe I will have to learn enough Python to write my own.

No need - there is the free data option https://steemdata.com/ and if you need more horsepower, https://steemsql.com/

I will have to check them out,

Thanks

Depends on your goal but i would suggest to use steemit comment picker for a random winner and then if the comment chosen makes sense with the contest then fine congrats if not then again steemit comment picker for a new potential winner !!

Make it fun ?? let the contest be crazy

Can we do this on a regular basis? Hell YES !!

So track with comments rather than a tag or something?

well using tags could also be something that is included in the contest..it would help filter comments.

Here is my idea although rough. If someone wants to win the Pi they should write up in a post the way(s) they plan to use it. Eg. I want to make a pi-hole and a google home project as my first Pi Projects. And they also need to agree to post status updates to steemit to keep you and the community updated. Then have them submit the entry into the competition post by the comments section. Also, you can add any other crieterion such as title, link, image, etc. And if it's your pi, unless you feel the need for judges. You can make the final call youself.

What kind of posts are you looking for? I am trying to write at least one post per week abound my journey learning to program Python on a Raspberry Pi to monitor and track my simple solar system.

Anything really, just want to encourage more making :)

I have a wildly unrealistic goal of inspiring a million makers by the time I am 50 :D

And how many years do you have left?

I am 44 in July

Do I post a link here, or are you tracking someplace else?

Right now just gathering ideas for how I should run this so it is fair, fun, and sustainable so I can keep doing it :)

No problem, I follow your posts so I will see contest when you get it up.

Thanks.

I have no idea what the best way is to keep track of entries but I'm already having fun and you should DEFINITELY do more giveaways! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57642.15
ETH 2578.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49