My Linux Journey

in #raspberry6 years ago (edited)

How I became a Linux Enthusiast at 20 years old.

I have been a GNU/Linux enthusiast ever since I got my Raspberry Pi 3 Model B.

IMG_20180411_093531.jpg

At first I did not even know how to actually connect to the Pi. I was using Microsoft Windows. I had to use PuTTY to connect to the Pi. Man, it feels like that was a looong time ago, when it's actually last year!

So, it all started with an IoT Project (which I am currently working on - will end around May/June 2018) organized by the NPCC (National Productivity and Competitiveness Council) in collaboration of e-Inclusion (The sponsor of the project) and University of Mauritius. e-Inclusion gave us (there were about 18 students participating) the RPi's, the casings, official power cord, jumper wires, 16GB SD card and a mini breadboard.

IMG_20180411_093546.jpg

So, to be honest, I got help with a friend who knew a thing or two about networking. He guided me through a bunch of steps like:

  • Connecting the Pi to the router via ethernet
  • Assigning a static IP to the Pi

I was happy to finally find the easy way to communicate with the Pi. I remember trying a few commands on Linux back in 2014. I did the same on the Pi. Well, I guess you can imagine what two commands they were!

sudo apt-get update and sudo apt-get upgrade. It was nice seeing the commands being executed and that I was controlling it via my laptop (a Dell 7559) !

After a month or two, I was astonished by what can actually be done with this credit card sized computer! I turned it into a web-server having the LEMP (Linux, Nginx, Php, MySQL) stack running. By doing so, I understand how the Internet works! Yeah! I have learned a lot with this piece of tech! I tried to access my website using my public IP. I couldn't. Obviously, port 80 was closed! I spent time finding how I could do this. Well it was a beautiful journey!

Why I shifted to GNU/Linux?

Not to beat around the bush, I did not know how to transfer data using PuTTY. So I decided to finally install GNU/Linux on my laptop. This was another chapter, trying to install GNU/Linux (Ubuntu more specifically) on a laptop which has nVidia as dedicated graphic chip. But I managed to install it at the InstallFest 2017. By myself!

My laptop was once again..new! It was super fast! :D
Since then.. I started on discovering Linux, I made sure to use Linux everyday.

SSH'ing with my RPi was never so easy! No 3rd party applications needed. It was native on the terminal! Both had the same file system. So scp was easy!

IMG_20180411_093603.jpg

Basically, this marks the beginning of my GNU/Linux journey. Today I am a junior Linux System and Database Engineer (intern) at OceanDBA Ltd. And I am pretty proud of myself.

Signing off,
@shravand

Sort:  

Welcome to the Linux world. I have been dabbling with UNIX/Linux for over 30 years and it was always my favorite. Had to earn a living with Micro$oft, but always came back to Linux. I was thrilled to find out about the Raspberry Pi in 2012 and now have 9 of them with 4 running various projects in my "Man Cave".

Thank you @mytechtrail! ^^
Over 30 years! Ubuntu is now my main OS! I'm happy with it!
As for the raspberry pi, that's a lot :P

Congratulations @shravand! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

🚀 This is a stellar post! 🚀

I will be featuring it in my weekly #technology and #science curation post for the @minnowsupport project and the Creators' Guild! The @creatorsguild is a new group of Steem bloggers and content creators looking to improve the overall quality of their niche.

Wish not to be featured in the curation post this Friday? Please let me know. In the meantime, keep up the hard work, and I hope to see you at the Creators' Guild!


If you have a free witness vote and like what I am doing for the Steem blockchain it would be an honor to have your vote for my witness server. Either click this SteemConnect link or head over to steemit.com/~witnesses and enter my username it the box at the bottom.

Hello, I will be happy if you feature this post in your weekly #technology! ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57491.44
ETH 3031.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38