You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rare Topics Challenge: Inaugural post about my love story with dnd and other rpgs

Favorite D&D race - Thri kreen. Being fascinated with sleeping (while never sleeping) leads to all sorts of fun encounter scenarios.

Favorite D&D class - Haven't found one that isn't fun.

Favorite rule system - Haven't found a single favorite - all of 'em have strengths and weaknesses. Some are less fun than others, but even those can teach you things. (Like, what NOT to do!)

Favorite die - d12. Rolls and spins nicely, and rarely used.

Favorite D&D alignment - I enjoy playing all of 'em. The reluctant paladin, the joyous psychopath, the grim defender, the curiously amoral researcher.... each has their own pleasures to play with.

Favorite oddity - Devil sticks (see

among others - I'm NO where near that good, but I have fun with them)

More likely to come.... :) Thanks for sharing, and I agree - the more we extend the range of conversation, the better!

Sort:  

Favorite die: Percentage die because you get to roll 2 dies for the price of one :D

As for favorite allignment I am not into really lawful types, limits your roleplay somewhat :)

That seems to be a common knock against lawful alignments - not something I find. Most sophonts I can imagine (slaad being an obvious D&D-world exception) tend to follow patterns - IE, rules. This leads to 'lawful'behavior.

The other key factor to me is asking the question - what law? Whose laws are they following? One character I greatly enjoyed was a paladin class from an external, so-called "barbarian" society with a radically different belief system than the pseudo-roman society he found himself living within. While the character hewed closely to a set of laws, those laws didn't cleanly mesh with the greater society's interpretation, which led to fun conflicts and confrontations.

Drove the GM a little wild, but - they let me make the character. :D

I guess you are right and it's true that laws can be different. It's just that I prefer to not be limited by any laws. If some moral issue arises I prefer to think of what kind of answer my character would choose based on his personality, instead of what kind society he lives or lived in.

Usually I play either chaotic good or chaotic neutral.

grin I've played all the alignments, but I tend to default to neutral good or chaotic neutral, it seems, especially if I can't find an "edge" to play with like the aforementioned barbarian-paladin

In one of the campaigns, I play a character that is me transported to DnD world. In it I chose the chaotic neutral alignment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99