Rap Day #22: Blinded by Your Grace Pt. 2 - Stormzy (Feat. Mnek)

in #rapday6 years ago

rapDayBanner.png

This is not the first time I talk about Stormzy. It took me some time, but I have learned to look for and listen to rap that I find beautiful, engaging, exciting, smart, or simply appealing. Now, I consider these songs a form of poetry. For me, this meant ignoring the vast majority of rappers and trappers since the genre is infested with banal lyrics and beats. In Stormzy I found someone who was truthful towards his lyrics and accepted himself as he is. I started listening to him during the summer of 2017. My favorite song from his portfolio was "Shut Up". "Shut up" started as a freestyle, but it was so good that they decided to put in paper and make a video for it. This proves Stormzy's mental and vocal capabilities.

Stormzy wanted to show the UK standing tall, proud and together, amidst the number of tragedies that have struck its soil this past year. The famed grime artist in turn reached out to his fans to come together and portray a united front against a backdrop of more adverse times. (highsnobiety)

Later, on December 2017, Stormzy came out with "Blinded by Your Grace Pt. 2". In this song, you can see Stormzy and all his community sharing their pride and faith to the world. In my opinion, this shows his humility as well as portraying how he is still very in touch with his community. Even though I consider myself a Catholic, the reality is that I am a very bad one. Even with my perspectives on religion, Stormzy manages to portray the beauty in having faith. Furthermore, studying the comments section of the video, he manages to bring people together regardless of their religion or background. Isn't that the whole purpose of music?

With this song, I hope I have truly managed to expand your perspective on rap and hip-hop. It's not all about drugs, money, and women. I invite you to listen to more from Stormzy. He is a great artist.


Lyrics:

[Intro: Stormzy]
I'm blinded by your grace
I'm blinded by your grace, by your grace
I'm blinded by your grace
I'm blinded by your

[Chorus: Stormzy & MNEK]
Lord, I've been broken
Although I'm not worthy
You fixed me, I'm blinded by your grace
You came and saved me
Lord, I've been broken
Although I'm not worthy
You fixed me, now I'm blinded by your grace
You came and saved me

[Verse 1: Stormzy]
One time for the Lord
And one time for the cause
And one round of applause, one time for Fraser T Smith on the chords
I feel we got one, I stay prayed up then I get the job done
Yeah, I'm Abigail's yout, but I'm God's son
But I'm up now, look at what God's done
Now I real talk, look at what God did
On the main stage runnin' 'round topless
I phone Flipz then I tell him that he got this
This is God's plan, they can never stop this
Like... wait right there, could you stop my verse?
You saved this kid and I'm not your first
It's not by blood and it's not by birth
But oh my God, what a God I serve

[Chorus: Stormzy & MNEK]
Lord, I've been broken
Although I'm not worthy
You fixed me, I'm blinded by your grace
You came and saved me
Lord, I've been broken
Although I'm not worthy
You fixed me, now I'm blinded by your grace
You came and saved me

[Verse 2: MNEK]
I said a prayer this morning
I prayed I would find a way
To another day, I was so afraid
'Til you came and saved, you came and saved me
And the rain was pouring, 'cause the sun faded away
Now I'm in a better place, no longer afraid
Blinded by your grace, you came and saved me, yeah
I said a prayer this morning, I prayed I would find a way
To another day, I was so afraid
'Til you came and saved, you came and saved me
And the rain was pouring, 'cause the sun faded away
Now I'm in a better place, no longer afraid
Blinded by your grace, you came and saved me, yeah

[Chorus: Stormzy & MNEK]
Lord, I've been broken
Although I'm not worthy
You fixed me, I'm blinded by your grace
You came and saved me
Lord, I've been broken
Although I'm not worthy
You fixed me, now I'm blinded by your grace
You came and saved me

Sources:

What kind of rap do you like best? Who is your favorite rapper? Leave a comment and feel free to share and contribute to #rapDay. If you enjoyed the song and/or would like to get more #rapDay on your feed, feel free to upvote, follow and/or resteem. Thanks for reading.

Best,

@capatazche

Sort:  

You have been defended with a 17.24% upvote!
I was summoned by @capatazche.

You got a 39.43% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @capatazche!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97