You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Going.

in #rant5 years ago

In the Swedish photo magazine Kamera & Bild you could read the following about Copyright for pictures.

“”Can I change a picture, and then publish it without the author's permission?

You may not change an image without the author's permission. It is an infringement of the non-profit right where the author has the right to decide how the image is transmitted to the public.

Can I change a picture a lot so that it almost becomes a new image, and then publish it without the author's permission?

It is only when you have changed the image into unrecognizable from what it first looked like it could possibly be considered that you have created a new work and thus have not infringed copyright. Otherwise, you must always have the author's permission”.

Sort:  

the author has the right to decide how the image is transmitted to the public.

Did you know, same is true for poetry/written work?.. It's a grey area when you'd be reading the source verbatim and crediting the author, but I wanted to create a podcast where I would read random poems taken from STEEM, but I looked into it and permission would still be needed even though I wasn't changing anything, for the reason quoted above, basically. What if the author did not want their poem read in my style, my voice, or even broadcast via audio?

Yep! It's gets that deep.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86