You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rant: Shadowrun 5th Edition rules are garbage

in #rant6 years ago (edited)

If you want to GM a cyberpunk game, we have 10,000 better systems than Shadowrun 5th Edition – and I say that as someone who loves Shadowrun, who has run a lot of Shadowrun, and whom you couldn't pay to play Shadowrun these days.

It didn't used to be that way. Once upon a time, SR was one of the lighter weight cyberpunk-genre games, with the dice pool system with some quirks but which was applied broadly and evenly for the most part. It was somewhere around 3rd Edition where the rules lawyers who love to particularize individual mechanics to smaller and smaller subsystems became dominant voices in the system design. Not surprisingly, that's when it started going downhill.

I love the Shadowrun setting. It's fantastic. I played a double dome wizard/physicist who taught at MIT&M and only went on runs in the summer for extra money. That is an insane character concept, but it fits in. I played a relatively stable insect shaman named Presley Aaron who really enjoyed the company of other people. Also insane! Still fits in.

Honestly, at this point if I were going to play a game of SR I would use Wushu, maybe with a few extra Traits allowed for "what makes you special", embrace the over-the-top nature of the narratives, and just let it go.

Alternatively, and I recommend this for probably too many things, Capes – which is just incredible for letting players pick what's important to them in any individual scene and play to that. (Also, it's GM-less so I would actually get to play.)

And if you just want to do some good, solid, straight up cyberpunk noir, you want Remember Tomorrow, which is all about the cyberpunk without all of the overhead.

Get away from traditional architectures in RPG design, that's my advice. Move toward systems and styles of play which are more distributed and which allow more than they prohibit. Particularly for settings like Shadowrun, this is going to be a win across the board.

Sort:  

Insane characters fitting perfectly into Shadowrun is probably the thing it does best. One of the players I played with in the PbP-game had bees as his weapons, buddies and … everything else, basically. Dr Bees!

Get away from traditional architectures in RPG design, that's my advice. Move toward systems and styles of play which are more distributed and which allow more than they prohibit.

Indeed! This is why I like powered by the apocalypse (and narrative systems in general) so much. If your character is defined by who he is, rather than a character sheet you will have more fun roleplaying, rather than playing a board-game.

Loading...

I still love 2nd. I've collected them ever since; (Haven't gotten to 5th yet). I'm just finding you guys and your posts; but I'm already seeing some good reasons to stick around chummers!

There's a slowly growing community of gamers and geeks on Steemit who indulge in some strange corners of the fandom. I like to flatter myself by thinking I've an unusual concentration of the oddity represented in one place.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66548.53
ETH 3594.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91