Order Followers Are Scum

in #rant8 years ago

So today a really horrible thing happened and I just have to vent.

So in the UK we have a charming little crap hole called the "job centre" where the unemployed are forced to jump through hoops to prove they want to work. They call your name and you go over to them and show the evidence for your job hunting, and if they are pleased you get paid.

So I'm in there and one of the women working there calls this guy over, didn't catch his name but he was at least in his mid to late 50's. She had to call him three times before he heard her, the third time was so loud everyone turned around to look.

His hearing is clearly bad I gathered.

He gets up rather slowly and shaky and stumbles over to her at a snails pace. She asks him the usual crap and his voice sounds broken and shaky. Suddenly she yells "you've not done enough for this week, this is not 6 hours worth"

He mumbles something I can't make it out and she repeats herself, then she says "this will have to be sent to a decision maker, you're not doing enough"

I almost cried as I knew what was going on, he slowly got up and walked past me I couldn't hold it any longer I went over to the woman.

"how can you sleep at night" I asked her

Her reply reviled me but I wasn't shocked.... "rather soundly thank you"

I shook my head knowing we are dependent on this crap like starving infants suckling at the tit.

Sort:  

They have never been good the dwp but since the Tories got in and started vilifying the unemployed it has became nightmarish.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44