Our overly sexualized society

in #rant7 years ago

I’m gaining so much perspective.
Us women have sexual appeal.
We have found we can use it to “get what we want”
That it gives us power

So women often objectify themselves
sexualize themselves
and then complain about being mis-treated as objects.
Well, what a cycle.

It starts with us women healing ourselves.
finding our worth beyond our image,
our looks.
finding confidence
finding our voice
feeling our power that comes from a connection to source.
so we don’t feel we have to use sex.

And once we start respecting ourselves
then we can demand respect.

Because in this culture
it’s become so taboo.
To a point where tapping into your zen and stretching your hamstrings in public is seen as a way of turning on a man.
Expressing myself is an invite.
Yoga is a means to an end.
Men can’t resist
and women hate you and think you’re showing off.
It’s “inappropriate”
must not be done in public.
makes a guy hard

and then they can’t be “just friends”
you’re forever doomed.
You look good, and you’re cool, sorry,
“I have enough friends and there’s no space for you”

Yes there is sex appeal
but it is so abused
in almost every commercial
so many songs and movies
gives us all the wrong ideas
becomes a not-conscious thing.

In the film industry, women ARE using it to get parts. To climb the ladder.
And it makes the rest of us look like we would be willing to compromise our integrity for a part, for attention, to be noticed.

The last thing I want is to do my morning routine
and someone think i’m showing off.
I can’t stand that.
I don’t wanna have to hide when i’m practicing handstands

And then on the other end of it....
Give me a reason to where I have to prove to you i’m worthy....
Treat me like i’m “less than”
and I go off the deep end.
Mix that in with a full/super moon and you have a recipe for a beautiful disaster.

So you’re better off just letting me be me
respect me
and I won’t get crazy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60025.27
ETH 2417.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42