Sigh.... humanity is...

in #rant4 years ago

IMG_20190117_172544.jpg

Okay... I get that people sometimes make a mistake and accidentally misjudge and get stuck in the middle of an intersection at the worst time of the day... aka. rush hour. But there are more than a few people who are just plain impatient and just want to get home as fast as possible, and screw the rest of the world if it messes up everyone else around them (and no, that isn't an allegory for anything else... but it is apt for many things...).

Now, if people were patient and polite... we would ALL be home faster... that includes doing stupid crazy weaving between traffic... expending stupid amounts of energy and making everyone else brake... just so that you can maybe get one car ahead... and then realise that you picked the slow lane and end up several cars behind.

Now, if the light is green... then it should be a moment of reflection. Will the fact that I can't actually make it across the intersection and will just get stuck there and block everyone else mean that I should just wait... YES... %$^@%@^%$-ing WAIT FOR THE INTERSECTION TO CLEAR!.

So, soon after this photo... the light for me turned green... and I waited... much to the fury of the driver behind me who suddenly discovered that mashing on the horn would have the effect of raising their blood pressure and not moving me. Interesting... well, if I go... then guess what, I'm part of the problem and not helping to fix it... thanks, but no thanks... I will wait for the next round... because, if SOMEONE makes a bit of space then there is a better chance of the problem clearing as long as not too many arseholes decide to make it worse for everyone.

... I really can't wait for humans to be taken out of the driving seat... I have no hurry to be home... if I did, I would have left earlier. Or, if I didn't like waiting in traffic, I would sit at a bar or a cafe for half an hour... and then make the drive home after the traffic had cleared. That said, I'm pretty happy sitting in the car rocking out to My Little Pony and watching the guy in the car behind turn a crazy shade of red... I don't know if it is the My Little Pony soundtrack or the fact that we are seperated by the walls of two cars... but he seems to be yelling something... I think he thinks I can hear him... but all I hear is the magic of the Ponies!

AWESOME!

Steem-Monsters (aka the best blockchain game out there!)


Humble Bundle

Have you heard of Humble Bundle? It's a place to get some really great deals on Games, e-books and comic bundles. However, if you sign up for a Humble Bundle Subscription (12 USD per month) you get some really nice bonuses!

  1. A 100+ USD bundle of games delivered direct to you each month, redeemable on Steam, Uplay or direct download (depending on the game). This includes recent Triple A games!
  2. Access to the Humble Bundle "Trove", a list of 60 games (and growing...) which are free to play as long as you remain a subscriber!
  3. Additional Discounts on the Humble Bundle store, with the choice of supporting charities, Humble Bundle or developers in whatever percentage that you wish!

Humble Bundle Subscriptions, it's a no brainer for the dedicated gamer!


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones


The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

Sort:  

I hear you @bengy!!!! Tourist season is beginning in our area and people are crazy! So many type A personalities escaping the cold for the winter. Agressive and angry personalities that often don't settle down until January, lol Needless to say we don't go out as much during this period, the honking and even yelling is so silly. My little pony, a much better solution, something to smile about! Be safe @bengy!

I really just don't understand the constant "need" to get ahead and "win" mentality... surely, it must be exhausting to feel like you are in a race all the time... sigh, if it works for them, then good for them.

PONIES!

Oh yes, the psychology of drivers in traffic should be an area of academic study, if it isn’t already! There are always people who are completely focused on getting ahead of everyone else. I find it incredibly bizarre, not to mention aggravating. They can do it with impunity, because there are no social implications. They would likely never act that way at a party or when surrounded by people they know, but somehow they find it okay to be arseholes in traffic. And that weaving in and out puts themselves and others at risk. People could die. But they are completely focused on owning the road. Grr. My approach is to behave the same way in traffic as I do in the grocery store. I move around people carefully, say excuse me, let them get around me, etc. We all need to think about those around us if we want this to be a livable world where we co-exist peacefully.

Yes, like I had already mentioned to someone else... I really fail to understand this constant "win" and get "ahead" mentality... it must be really exhausting to live like this... constantly expending more energy for marginal returns... well, I guess it must feel like you are doing something... but if you took a step back, is it worth it?

Which song were you listening to? If only people listened to happy music while driving, the road demeanor would transform. Driving in Los Angeles, people are actually mostly nice that when a jerk comes alongside there’s a collective sigh. Traffic is a given. Why be a standout as a demon on wheels? I keep my pace and refuse to be bullied.

I think I will look into adding some My Little Pony on my driving playlist 🎵

J

Posted using Partiko iOS

I was listening to the one at the end of the post... AWESOME!

Bad drivers are just as universal here when I try to drive in downtown Vancouver. I gave up owning a car since I now live, work, and everything else in my suburb far from the city center. Everything is within a short bus trip, better than displaying my Barretta MK II to the screaming and honking guy close behind my ride.

Posted using Partiko Android

Eeeeep.... if I saw you were packing guns... I think I would let you cut me off....

No, no, no. That's when I pack "Fang" my Japanese Kenjutsu Katana then things will be cut off

Posted using Partiko Android

OMG yes, yes, and all sorts of yes. I gleefully point these people out to my children who are usually in the car with me. "Do you see that person? That person is a ......" Depending on which child is in the car with me, I will fill in that last blank accordingly. Whenever I see a person actually ensure that an intersection - or even a driveway - is left open, I always want to get out and shake their hand.

Haha... I explain to my kids that the person is trying to get ahead but at the cost of messing everyone else up... and how selfish it is... of course, there are times when it is an accident.... but you can see the ones who do it on purpose.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 4 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 164 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34