Beware scammers - Fyrstikken is here - Feel the Fear!

in #rant-entertainment7 years ago (edited)


Every single day individuals direct message me to get into some crypto-scam, hoping for a quick buck and no responsability. Well, there has been plenty of scamcoin-developers and scam-exchange operators that has gotten what they deserve through law enforcement, or they fucked over the wrong people and got what they deserved anyway, let me rant a bit about that here:


So How To avoid crypto-scammers and other story-tellers... Like a Boss!

  • Never get sidelined or sidetracked by someone who wants to talk with you in private, always consult with a group of people you trust before making a transaction decision, do real research and sleep on it.
  • Just because "something new" is released or "about to be released" does not mean you should get in on it. The easiest way to scam the most money is to create hopes and dreams that people will believe in, clash on a nice logo and pay $100 to have a botnet go crazy on twitter, trollboxes & IRC for a few days: "HopesAndDreamsCoin will go to the moon, invest". Avoid that.
  • Make sure you belong to a diverse community of potential advisors. steemit.chat and SteemSpeak Discord has a lot of old timers and no-bullshit attitude. Don´t be shy, if something seems too good to be true, it often is - except when it is not, so make sure you get in the "know-zone" before you do anything irrational and irreversible.
  • A Friend is just an Enemy with a Secret Identity. Don´t fall for the friendship-trap. This is a Dog eat Dog World, and most people get fooled right here on the Internet, so make sure you do not become one of them.
  • Do not store more money then you need. Diversify your digital assets and money and make sure you lock them in with a secure password and a 2 Factor Authenticator on your Phone or elsewhere.
  • Remain Sceptic - People need to prove themselves worthy of your trust.

Welcome to the Internet of Money :)

Sort:  

Thanks for the practical advice in navigating through the 'wild west' of cryptocurrencies. FOMO - fear of missing out--is also a natural tendency many people have and scammers play on it. If an opportunity is truly a good one, it will still be a good one after giving yourself time to step back, think, and do some due diligence on it. Upvoted and resteemed.

Your cursing rants make me giggle like a little girl....thank you😍

lmao :) @reddust

Just wait till that Nigerian prince gets with the crypto....

Is that you, Dr. Yozef? I´ll send you 1 Bitcoin and you send me my distant relatives inheritance, right? LMAO

That is correct, send me 2 and I'll even send you the inheritance of my own relatives.

Yes, but it has been seized by the government and I am in hiding. If you send me 3 btc I can bride one of the government workers and send it all to you so you can send it to me. you can keep 10% of the total amount. Can I trust you to do this for me? Trust is very important for me.

Do you want to trade some shitcoin?

Tell me, where can I find them?? :)

Hahahaha, I love the Brownpaper!
Where can I invest? Didn't see a crowdfunding with some ShitCrowns or something like that available for many many non-shitcoins? :)

Just hearing that soundbite I would not mess with you!

lol, good to know :D

some weeks ago, a guy from canada ask me if i want to trade with cryptocurrencys. i say, why not. so he showed me a page which promises every day 3 - 7% profit. deposite was with bitcoin and ethereum but payouts only in dollar :D
minimum investment 1,000 usd in crypto money
his commission 12%.
i said to him that i will have this company in look for a while.
later, i read in a forum that it was fake and a hyip-system and many people was scammed...

Good thing you did some research. It could have been you.

right :-) and thank you for your post about this topic ;-)

Any site that promises a guaranteed profit wouldn't be advertising it. Guaranteed profits are always kept secret. If you know how to guarantee yourself a profit, why would you tell anyone else? You would just do it and keep re-investing yourself until you were rich.

ALL sites that guarantee a profit are scams. I really do mean ALL of them.

I (try to) guarantee a profit (when/if possible)?

you are right :-)

Do not store more money then you need. Diversify your digital assets and money and make sure you lock them in with a secure password and a 2 Factor Authenticator on your Phone or elsewhere.

This is very important! Only a few months ago someone was trying to steal my Reddit account.

Good post, people need to be reminded of this stuff!

This is very important! Only a few months ago someone was trying to steal my Reddit account.

indeed, people try to steal all kinds of things now a days.

Good post, people need to be reminded of this stuff!

thank you

very informative !! A warning to those who wants to engage in crypto ;-) thanks for sharing ;-))

God bless you @fyrstikken :)

Oh great, warn them, why don't you? Now how am I going to sell those GoldenGateBridgeCoins, hm?

damn, son. You should have written a post about it on steemit: "Should I invest in GoldenGateBridgeCoins?" - they would have all said no :D

But each represents a square inch of original Golden Gate Bridge paint! Really!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61143.97
ETH 3363.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51