It's a Random World

in #randomworld6 years ago (edited)

Those of you wonderful folks who have been following along know that recently I have been doing a lot of Random Japan posts. I say recently, but I've been doing them for about two months now. Well, over the last few weeks they have died down a bit as I focus on other things, but I am still doing them.

What is Random Japan? It is basically trying to highlight and show some of the plain, ordinary, "boring", daily things in Japan, things that you may not see normally.

This idea was sparked by requests I always used to get when I ran my own website for "ordinary Japan". One time I posted a random photo out my window as I was driving. Another time I took a video of a drive. I was always getting requests for more "ordinary".

I brought the idea here to Steemit and #randomjapan is born!

Random Japan and Friends

But I'm not the only one posting random Japan photos. I have gotten a number of expats and regular visitors to Japan on-board with this idea. Included are @kafkanarchy84 @boxcarblue @wllmdnnd @maxinpower @jrvacation @mweich @japaninpictures @noopu. All of these fine folks throw up occasional #randomjapan posts, full of great photos and interesting info. You can always find the latest posts by following the #randomjapan tag.

The idea has also expanded out of Japan to other countries!

@kaliju covers Korea with his Random Korea posts. He posts under the #randomkorea tag.

@nobyeni gives us some wonderful random views of china under the #randomchina tag.

It's a Random World

I and many of the above people also use the #randomasia tag to group all of these together. I also use the #randomworld tag to group all random place posts together, but I may be the only one doing that so far.

Join Us

Do you want to share random, ordinary, plain, more typical and less stereotypical photos of your country? Join us! Post your photos under the #randomworld tag as well as "randomCOUNTRY", where COUNTRY is wherever the photos are from, for example "randomrussia" or "randommexico" and so on.

I am keeping a master list of all tags in #randomworld and people participating in a spreadsheet on my computer. If you want to join the fun, leave a comment on this post or message me in some way to let me know what country you are posting from and what tag you will be using. Every now and then I'll make a post listing all people participating and all tags being used.

Together we can all share the real and daily and cut down on false impressions and misinformation, and share some great photos too.

Hi thereDavid LaSpina is an American photographer lost in Japan, trying to capture the beauty of this country one photo at a time.
Sort:  

Nice post with the quality images. thanks for sharing.

I really love this initiative. I've been collecting a lot of pictures during my travels and while living in Asia now. Will spread them a bit over time to post them, and would be lovely to have the whole world join in!
I love your combination of thoughtful considerations accompanying the pictures. Really shows a different side of the world.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62264.03
ETH 2431.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50