Random Challenge of the day #34 - Story of my life...

in #randomcotd6 years ago

Note: What you are about to read is not fictional. It represents true facts of events that occured at different points in my life...

Stan has been gesticulating and moving his head strongly for about twenty minutes now, Emmy sits directly opposite him also nodding his head at intervals. I sit somewhat between both of them, and i try as much as possible to appear deep in thought. Stan and Emmy are good friends at worst, but the truth is, i stopped listening about half a minute into the epistle, and presently a raft of unnecessary ideas ran through my head...

My name is Olukayode, and this is my life story...

I was born sometime in October 1992, and i came into this world without a silver spoon in my sights, let alone my hands. My parents were decent average folks who tried as much as possible to cater for I and my five other siblings, and they did a good, if not excellent job of it. Enough of them anyways, this is my life story afterall...

I know not much about my experiences as a kid, i seem to have very few memories of that time. However, one particular memory remains sharp in my mind. I was in primary school, i think about primary four at the time. I had a classmate who was my closest pal back then (Raymond). He had my six, and me being a skinny boy with brains, he held the brawn part of our friendship. One day in school, i had a little altercation with a supposedly younger student. This student however, was physically way ahead of yours truly. As i definitely wasnt a brave kid, i balked and would have ran away but for the sudden materialization of Raymond out of nowhere. He saved the day, but not enough to prevent my new enemy from promising to get me later when "superman" was absent....

I got home that day and i relayed the story to my mum, praising the heroics of Raymond. Well, to cut a long story short, my mum lambasted me for being a coward to a younger student. This got me riled up, and very unhappy. Fast forward a few days later and Mr. "catch you later" caught up with me. My mum's words still hurting my ears, i pulled him off his feet and slammed his skull on the bare cement floor in one sudden move (honestly, i still dont know how i managed it). Well, he definitely left me alone and started chasing headaches soon after. The school management sent me home, my mum got angry anew, and i was left confused as to what was wanted from me in this world...

Decades later...

I finally made it, i had a first class bachelor's degree. Years of "burning midnight candles" finally reaped one good reward. Why do i sound like i have been cheated of something in the past? Well, because i have. Back in my 200 level, i finally had a chance to apply for my state's scholarship. I was ecstatic, this scholarship could change my life. I had looked forward to it even prior to gaining admission. So yours truly couldnt wait to apply...

Apply i did, and i patiently began the long wait before the scholarship exam. Tick tock the time went, and days turmed to weeks, and weeks turned to months. When it seemed like the wait could only get longer, a date was finally announced, hurray! Alas, it was during the holidays, and i was just lucky to still be on campus. Well, thank you lucky stars, to the exam I go...

Soon after i saw the first question, i knew this was not going to be a giveaway. It was mostly advanced calculations, and very little of anything in the humanities, given to a student of philosophy, haba! Not to be discouraged, i set on ticking boxes, using as much of my reserve memory as i could (i did much of further maths in my secondary school days and i was good at it)... What i didnt know, i simply guessed, as it was multiple choice answers...

Long story short, i made a 72% when the results came out. I couldnt jump for joy enough. Needless to say, i shouldn't have... First, the state scholarship board released a cut off mark of 70 as opposed to the previously announced 68. I didnt worry much, i still beat the two... But how was i to know... That soon as the scholarship funds were approved for payments, the incumbent government lost power... So went my scholarship dream... Now you know why i felt so ecstatic to make that firat class right?

My name is Olukayode, and this is a tiny bit of my life story...

IMG_20180219_173728_592.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42