I Grew Up in a Nudist Camp - and Loved It!

in #random8 years ago (edited)

Fun fact : I grew up in a nudist camp and used to paint on women. They had a body painting contest and my parents let me join, because I wouldn't shut up most likely. I was the only kid that participated. What did I paint on this grown woman? A monkey holding up a barbell and weights. Use your imagination to picture where everything was.

I didn't win. I think most adults, even at a nudist camp, were a little freaked out by a little kid painting on some woman's breast. I didn't see the problem as an 8 year old boy. It was just fun, but yeah I was a little perv ... because I grew up in a nudist camp. This will probably help some of you understand why I am the way I am.

The Question

I can still remember my Father calling me and my brother into our parents bedroom late one night and asking us, "Do you want to go to a nudist camp?". I don't remember my brother's response, but I had to ask, "What's a nudist camp?". I was 7 years old at the time. My Dad explained it all to me and my next question was, "Do I have to be naked???". He told me no, that I could wear a towel or they would even let me wear my clothes anywhere except the pool.

The pool was the only place everyone had to be naked. They claimed it had to do with threads getting into the pool filter, but even as a kid I knew that was bullshit, but it was the rules and it was enforced every single time. If you ever tried to swim in trunks they would make you get out, take your trunks off and shower first if you wanted to get back in the pool.

The Pools

As you can imagine, as I grew older this became an issue when I would be in the pool with girls my age. Needless to say, there were times I had to stay in the pool, in the deep end, longer than everyone else before I could exit. I didn't want to be that weird kid walking around with a semi. The girls thought it was funny to bump into your crotch as much as possible I learned from my older brother. They were basically trying to embarrass the boys.

The odd thing is, there never was any weird stuff going on at the camps we attended from the time I was 7 to 15. I kept expecting to see some weird old guy checking us all out, but pretty much everyone just acted normal. Most people walked around in a towel, except during sports. And this is where it did get a little off-putting.

Naked Sports

Seeing your Dad's schlong on the other side of a tennis court slap all over the place while you played him in tennis was a bit much. So I stopped playing tennis with Dad real quick. I decided volleyball looked fun, so I started to learn to play it and found out I was pretty good. The best part was most people wore a towel while playing, but the ladies were still topless, so that was a bonus as a young man.

Don't get me wrong, not everyone was svelte. The vast majority of people that were at these places were retired and it was pretty gross, but I got used to it pretty quick and it didn't phase me after a month or so. We would laugh to ourselves at times about certain people, but when you yourself are walking around naked you tend to stop doing that pretty quick because I sure didn't want to hear someone laughing at my body, especially one of the girls my age.

Eating with Naked People

The only part I didn't like about the nudist camps we attended was eating with everyone else. Usually there was a big placed called "The Hall", from what I remember, at the center of these places and they served food three times a day. It had rooms people could rent, an inside heated pool, ping-pong tables, pool tables, TV's etc.

Eating with old naked people is not enjoyable as a kid; well I assume it's probably not enjoyable at anytime in your life, but I stopped going when I turned 15 so I can only imagine past that point. They did make you use a towel to sit down, but still, watching someone's Grandma sit down and have her boobs slap up on the table was pretty gross at times ... no at all times. Even worse, some of the older people would walk in buck naked with their towel in their hands and put it on the chair instead of wrapping it around themselves. I stopped eating at the Hall pretty quick for this reason.

Growing Up a Nudist

I know it sounds really weird for a kid to be around a bunch of naked older people his entire childhood, but it was actually kind of cool. When I would go to school I would tell my non-nudist friends about it and they didn't believe me, until I showed them pictures my Father had hidden in his drawer. I became pretty cool after that! Oh and picture taking was not something that was allowed, unless everyone who would be in the picture agreed ahead of time. My Dad had taken pictures with his older friends and their wives, some who were pretty hot from what I remember.

I attended two different camps when I was a kid. One was on the Rio Grande River and the other was outside of Austin, Texas. The camp on the Rio Grande was really cool because they had peacocks, lambs and other animals I'd never seen before just walking around. I got to feed the lambs with bottles and would pick up the peacock feathers that were on the ground and collect them. I had a pretty big collection after a few years.

There were also some wealthy people at these clubs. One that I especially remember owned a bunch of Mexican food restaurants in San Antonio, Texas. He had a kick ass Jaguar car and ever since I saw it as a kid I always wanted one just like his. He would take a bunch of us to one of his restaurants and feed everyone to try out new dishes for their menu. I thought this guy was the coolest dude in the world back then.

Freedom

The other camp near Austin, Texas was on around 900 acres from what I remember. It had a dirt landing strip way out in the back and a few people would fly their little planes in on weekends. As a kid, it was like a dream to roam around that much land without worry. There were trails all over the place out in the woods and people had cabins all spread out. I became best friends with the owners son who was my age and we thought we owned this place.

We would buy Army surplus gear and go around pretending we were at war with imaginary enemies. The old folks probably thought we were crazy, but some would pretend to be bad guys and would fall over and play dead if they saw us near their cabin playing. I had a very vivid imagination as a kid and it's probably due to the lifestyle my Father led. He thought he was James Bond, and frankly, I did too!

So that's why I'm so weird today. My Dad is a strange fellow, but pretty cool at the same time. He was into a little bit of everything; motorcycles, exotic cars, nudist camps, you name it he was into it and he brought my brother and I along for all of his adventures. But that's another story.

Sort:  

Oh man this is awesome, one day, I'm going to come over there and have a big ol' beer with you, stories like this make me like you more and more! :-).

One question though (you answered my other question in the bit about staying in the deep-end), would you do the same with your kids; do you have kids?

I know, that was two questions.

Wish I could give you an extra tip for this one, I'm still lolling :-)

CG

would you do the same with your kids

Oh hell no. My Dad taught me how not to raise kids. Even though all the crazy stuff he did with us was fun, it was a life lesson of what not to do with children.

do you have kids?

Yes I do. Our oldest daughter is living with us again and she overheard me telling her Mom that I wrote about this last night and we hear, "Whaaaaaat!?". I've never told any of them the crazy stuff my Dad had us doing when we were children, but she's old enough to handle it now, I think. :)

Thanks!

Awesome, you have to keep those ones back, I'm sure I'm going to drop some story on my daughter when she's all grown up to make her go whaaaaa....??? I hope so anyway :-D

Im in my bed and that's the first thing of the day that I read. Thanks Tuck! #random

Very cool story tuck! Intersting early childhood life there. Im sure those granny boobs still haunt you. I seen my grannys boobs when I walked in on her on accident and im still traumatized. Lol

Monkey lifting weights

Great story! You're moving into the @stellabelle class here.

You're moving into the @stellabelle class here.

Thanks! I must confess, reading all of her very detailed life stories made me feel more comfortable about bringing up some of the weird stuff I went through as a child. It was rather cathartic to type all of that up, so I thank her for helping me get that story off my chest. :)

Very interesting, thanks for sharing!
Sounds like a normal camp, except for the no-clothes part. But if everyone is naked and no one is making a big deal out of it, then everyone feels comfortable. I was at a few parties when I lived in Miami that started clothed and ended clothing-optional, and never had a problem with it. :)

Sounds like a normal camp

It was, which was weird. I expected some crazy things going in at 7 years old, but everyone was just normal. They just wanted to be naked while they carried out their daily lives. I'm sure places like this have changed over the years, in fact I saw the one place in San Antonio is now "Adults only" and some of the reviews said, "white trash swingers club" or something like that, so yeah it's changed a lot since we were there. :)

I just stumbled upon this post and as I was reading it I thought man this sounds like star ranch. Lol. I'm from San Antonio and I've been to star ranch several times throughout my 20s and 30s. It's still family friendly. I do know of the one outside of SA that is now "adults only" but I've never been.

I believe it. I often have had this nagging impression you sat naked at your computer while making your memes and throwing your skillz around the forums.

I often have had this nagging impression you sat naked at your computer

Only when I chat with you fuzzy. =b

As a nudist myself I thoroughly enjoyed this post. Well done. The nudist lifestyle is such a natural and healthy experience. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85