A Letter for You

in #random8 years ago (edited)

Hey You. #introduceyourself

It's me. Your wife. I guess I should be talking to you face to face but you're making that pretty impossible at the moment and I'm feeling desperate, so here we are. It was you who told me about this, thank you for often pointing out a side of the world so new to me it kind of burns my retinas. I hope I offer you the same type of different, in my own way. If this trends madly then I’m pretty sure you’ll get to read it. In any case, if you don’t read this maybe some other peep will and maybe they’ll go home a little quicker tonight to hold their precious friend longer and make that decision to just remember what they know to be true. That love is really all there is.

Remember me? Your wingwoman? Remember us?

We clingwrap mattresses. We can do anything.

I'm sorry that I am letting my ego and pride get in the way of simply loving you and helping you through this moment. I understand that I need to be the strength, the support, the brace. I need those things too but I understand that you need them more right now. I'm scared that if I dig deep and let go of my pride and put myself second that I will deny me my inner feminist, it will strip away my power and make me weak, like my Mum was with my Dad, putting up with his abuse and walking on eggshells all the time. It’s hard to be the one who gives in first.
But you are not my Dad and I am not my Mum and we are different. We always have been. We are the best friends who can and do. Remember us?

So I am writing this to say that I will be that person for you. Even when you are silent, scared and withdrawn. Even when you are too tired to speak and too anxious to feel positive. I will be that strength. Because on the day I met you ten years ago and every day since then I have had unwavering faith that together, we can do anything. This is a tough time. Epic in fact. And it will get harder yet. So please stay focused on what you know to be true. The truth is good to us. I see it daily in our childrens’ smiling eyes and happy, off beat lives. Hold on.

The way may seem lost right now. But everything is as it should be.

Someday we will reflect on this as a bump in the road and smile together, looking outward to that vast open space called possibility and inward to our diamond souls, the ones that grew under pressure.

I love you.

Boo.

Sort:  

I understand - being there for each other for the long haul. Sometimes we need to slow down and savor the moment.

A beautiful open letter from the heart. Whoever is your kindred spirit, he is a lucky man.

Steem needs more love like this.

... and now a photo. Beautiful. Cryptos and love on steem. Schweeet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58196.53
ETH 3121.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42