Strange abandoned massive building in middle of nowhere

in #random5 years ago

I don't know what happened here, perhaps a resort that never got going - maybe one that was just placed in the wrong place and shut down. It's hard to tell, but I found it quite ominous on my random bike ride today.

55818936_621482301612024_7659147971308552192_n.jpg

I can't say for certain what this ever was because there is no indication as to a business name in any part of the place I explored. I didn't get to see much of it because it was very clearly signposted "Do not enter" in both English and Thai and I only got to the pool before someone was shouting at me.

56340057_2395330153819230_6439290762898178048_n.jpg

There is no indication that the place is for sale either - although I can't imagine that anyone would be interested. The land in this area is primarily farms and it is ages from any of the tourist attractions. I can't imagine what the builders were thinking when they chose this area.

56524200_3181324225226346_2177537935056830464_n.jpg
I hope the original plan included some sort of elevators

It very well could be a facility that never got finished building, which is something that commonly happens in Thailand... They start, run out of money as their project goes wildly over budget, and then just walk away (rich people function in strange ways eh?)

However, i will likely not get any sort of answer to this because when I asked some local people, they aren't even aware it is there at all. I am going to try to go back one day and get inside the building. I can't imagine what problem they would have with that but it certainly isn't something I am willing to go to jail for.... maybe I should just leave it alone .

Sort:  

It was very wasted project, really.

It’s probably haunted so people were frightened away!

Posted using Partiko iOS

As silly as that sounds it is a very real possibility in Thailand. Even simply rumors of haunting can shut a place down

Posted using Partiko Android

Aha! You know Thai people and they’re very superstitious.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Probably a funding issue or a government planning condition. I know a few happened in pain including an International airport just abandoned. That building looks too far down the road though to be funding so I would say someone by passed planning permission. To have a pool a driveway and 80 percent of the building done it is strange.

If you ask me, I'd say it's a multi-million mega money project that's become white elephant, I see a lot in my country and I think the reason for this is that funds ran dry while building the project, it could be that the owner died while construction or it could be a government vendetta of sort, anyway it is, definitely had to do with fund

I guess a dispute might have fallen place which is still unsolved or the most common one- running out of funds.
Such kind of buildings are complete waste of resources.

Sometimes I think that such a ghost bonded building, which were never finished and used are in every city, country.
They are the perfect place for postapocalyptic movies.

In my country too many empty buildings are left alone. The reason is due to incorrect design and project tenders that are not appropriate. The tender winner usually bribes the relevant agency so he wins the tender. Then there was an ugly building that could not be used.

In Latin American countries this type of unfinished and abandoned structures is normal, @gooddream. Sometimes it's even worse, because they become dens for criminals or shelters for homeless families. Some people in my country, when they see these so-called "cement elephants," talk about money laundering. They are monuments to neglect and abandonment, elementary, my dear Watson.

Crazy, as it looks practically finished, and very recently left. Even the pool is full! Abandoned places are always strangely fascinating, especially large scale like this or even theme parks!

In China, many high rises get put up in major and new cities and then just don't get full up. So, they are not abandoned, just empty.... it was very odd to me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59171.28
ETH 2598.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42