8 days... time and how it flies... and death

in #ramblings6 years ago (edited)

So it's been eight whole days already since my last confession... wait, post... here on #steemit.

It's really kind of terrifying how my sense of time has been warped by my life experiences. I really thought it was only a few days ago that I made that first post.

Time is a funny thing

aron-visuals-322314-unsplash.jpg
#Photo by #AronVisuals on #Unsplash

Living each moment like it's your last

After someone dies or find out something awful could happen to someone you love, the minutes and hours are all of a sudden much more precious. I try to live each moment like it's my last with everyone. This might sound a little crazy, and it probably is, but that's where I'm at in life.

simeon-muller-3505-unsplash.jpg
Photo by Simeon Muller on Unsplash

My father died when I was a teenager, and my husband has an incurable condition that will eventually take his life. So my approach to life is smiling, laughing, and living the shit out of this one run I have with being with the people I love.

As a result, each day feels like a lifetime. I'm young, energetic, and have a ridiculous drive to achieve the impossible. My dude, thankfully, is the same. We live our lives like there is no tomorrow and time is not on our side, because it isn't.

It is the one resource that we can't

  • count on,
  • renew,
  • recycle,
  • or reuse.

Once it's gone, that's it.

Okay, so that's a lot of doom and gloom and huge problem without a solution in sight.

Except...

Here's the great part about this life we're living. We don't have to keep wasting it. We have the chance to make the choice to get off our asses and shake our lives up a bit.

  • Take the risk you've been avoiding,
  • Jump on the opportunity that keeps knocking at your door,
  • Give each moment the chance to be the best one yet.

My big risk

One of my big risks was starting a journey about 3 years ago to help people tell their life stories. On the face of it, it was simple and many people were doing it. What I found out was that there lacked a tool and support to do it well.

So, like any #entrepreneur worth their #salt... I created that tool.

Every person has a story worth writing twitter.png

And people have been using it. And it's amazing. The changes I see in the people I work with are breathtaking. The ones telling their stories and the ones who are helping them do it, all experience a change in themselves and begin to look at their world with a wider view.

Taking that risk to create that thing, has been worth every moment spent, tear, sob, and laugh along the way.

What about you?

Here is the hard part. I had to spend a lot of time thinking about all of this and owning up to that fact that lately, I've been kind of twiddling my thumbs on some things. I admitted to myself that I needed to get my "poop in a group".

How do you feel about time? Does it move slow or fast? Do you feel like you are watching it swirl down an endless drain into an abyss of blackness? Why do you think you feel that way?

And finally, what the heck are you going to do change?

Let me know

  • how it goes,
  • what you think,
  • and your experiences

in the comments :)

Sort:  

Congratulations @ravengael! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63001.43
ETH 3365.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45