Who deserves steemit success?

in #rambling6 years ago

Who should get our upvotes? Who deserves to earn the big $ ?

For the sake of this rant I try to categorize steemians in a couple of categories. In reality most of us will fall in multiple categories and the borders are not so clear as more seasoned steemians will become investors themselves if they keep their earned steem and everyone who is commenting on other peoples articles is networking in a way.

author.jpg

The Writer : many steemians claim to be sitting multiple hours in front of their articles. In some you can see that a lot of work got put into their sentences, while others...well they seem to be written by a drunk monkey.

What all writers have in common, is they put a certain amount of work into their articles. Some with more talent, some with less.

Most of the people I follow have claimed at some point they think they deserve more.

Here we could categorize more if we take a look into their wallet and reputation.

Should we focus more on people who have proven themselves to stay around or support the new ones more? Or maybe the ones who are the most consistent.

Or should we go away from the idea supporting authors and support articles?

investor.jpg

The Investor : Bringing his money to the table to earn curation rewards or to be able to give himself a bigger upvote. Is he the reason Steem has value at all? Netherless often creating a following just because the wallet is bigger then others and often has followers despite never posted once.

netzwerk.jpg

The Connector : While the connector might have not the best content, he is very active on other peoples articles and the community likes him. Often he votes generously in his circle of followers to keep the masses happy or on comments he gets to keep the engagment high. The account has a lot of followers and a lot of engagment on every post.

spam meme.jpg

The spammer : Often the content is stolen, the comments he leaves are copy pasted and if it is not a bot it seems to be pretty boring to use steemit like this.

advertizer.jpg

The Advertiser : The content can be good or bad but it is all about the appearance of being already successful on steem as people like winners, right? So in every post is like an investment and needs to be advertised through bots and their steempower for hire.

influencer.jpg

The Influencer : While he sometimes writes about other stuff most of the time he is writing about how he is bringing new people into steemit through other channels.

developer.jpg

The Developer : Some project seem to be groundbreaking, some maybe hard to understand, but the developer is working behind closed doors and more often then not is bringing a lot of creativity and new features to the table.

What all those have in common is that in a way they are sinking hours into steemit. Some more successful and some less.

As I wrote above, most users dont fit only one category and I probably missed some but that has to do for now.

Who do you like to support the most? What does a steemian has to do in your opinion that he deserves to be successful here?

flipstar.jpg

Sort:  

Make a healthy mix in your voting behaviour and create longterm win-win relationships in all directions ;-)
I am on voting diet for the next 36 hours but I will make resteems.

that is what I am trying to do :-)

I will sit in a bus to malaysia tomorrow so I will be offline for a while once again :-)

Thanks a lot for the resteem

Na dann gibt es doch noch ein Upvote.hihi.
Du wirst wharscheinlich dein Visum erneuren müssen ;-)
Trafel safe.

genau :-(

das wollte ich damit nicht bezwecken sondern nur sagen, dass ich auch etwas pause machen werde und eh muss da ich schon wieder auf 60% VP bin -.-

mal sehen, das letzte mal hatte ich kein internet ich hoffe diesmal schon :-)

Hahaha. Die VP geht auch ruckzuck weg.

resteemed @flipstar...Where are you traveling from if I may ask? I used to live in S-E Asia, Singapore mainly. Traveled to Malaysia quite a lot.

thanks :-)

I am traveling from Phuket to renew my visa and heading back to Thailand after that.

Ah, one of my favourite places in the world Thailand. One of my best friends from that time is an event planner in Phuket :)

Ich erkenne mich in einigen Kategorien wieder...
außer im Bereich Spam ... ;-)

Sehr guter Beitrag!

Resteemed!

ja ich mich auch :-)

danke dir vielmals

As my profile will attest, I'm eclectic and like to vote as such (um... not that I'm worth much of anything 😆...yet 😎 ).

I REALLY like people that interact and want to support Steem and Steemit as a whole. I also like to upvote super long sciencey posts with tons of information and links... but little to no community interaction😏 . And to be honest, I'm artsy and like things like singing and contests. So there's that. 😁

I think that HIGH-QUALITY content, presented well (using Markdown) is what I'm after. For reals. Be serious, be funny, be creative, be informative, but don't be sloppy. 😎

I'm likely to upvote a meme or a picture of something ONLY if there are actually words with it. LOL! I sadly, don't even watch the videos that are sans explanation. (I'm sure others do.)

Now... that all said... this word DESERVE.

I think that whatever you are making you deserve.

Sure, as a newbie you may not have many eyes yet (Lord knows I don't), but if it's meant to be, you will. If an investor comes in with TONS of STEEM, then they, too, deserve every cent of their upvotes. I mean, I'm assuming they didn't rob a bank, so that INVESTMENT had to come from somewhere, right? 😏

Nothing's really fair, but we all have to play by the rules we're given. And for the first time, Steemit is offering a platform for folks to get rewarded for taking time to do the things they love.

Yes. My posts take FOREVER. But I'm CHOOSING to make them the best. I'm choosing to spend time creating, formatting, helping. This is the only platform where I might get rewarded in more than just feels. Don't get me wrong. I love feels. I did this same stuff on Facebook for nuttin'. But here, while I never expect anything, I'm so much more willing to do it.

And finally, to be successful.

Participate. Be kind. Be helpful. Be awesome.

Or have LOTS of money to invest first off.


Hugs to all you beautiful Steemians out there!
I think we're a part of something great!

very nice comment.

I think there is no success without being in multiple niches here. You will not be as successful if you dont interact or have some at least okish content.

As a newbie it might be hard to start but I also seen quite some successful ones within the short time I have been here and all of them did put in a lot of work. Some more into their content, some more to connect to other steemians.

Not many had success right away.

Many, myself included have not been a writer before steemit and using it to practise their writing skills and still have to find their nice in a way.

Most of the time I enjoy writing though and being part of this community with all its flaws and hopes.

Mmmm, I'm contemplating where I sit on this list as an artist.

I would put artists into the writer category and would call it content creator if I would write this article again :-)

This is always the hardest part of the attention economy system. Who decides how much each person deserve and is it every really fair? Does it even need to be fair? Hard questions, really no good answers that I can think of.

Yes I have no solution for this either.

That is too bad...... O_O

this post is usefull. thank you

that makes me a happy steemian :-)

How do we call the Steemians who have about 3000 followers after 3 months due to inviting and welcoming any newcomer, or due to the follow -by-follow game?

I would put them into the spammer category for the most part

Good post. I didn't know there's a rambling category now. Steemians have their own definition of success. Good content does not mean it will always make money or be popular, just like when Justin Bieber makes money from his music... or when bad food sells.

I think I am the only one posting there, so it probably doesnt count as a category :-)

Yes, you are right unfortanetly. It will probably get harder also if more people come into steemit. But also maybe steemit will get emptier.

I just used that metaphor of success with modern talking yesterday, just because something or someone is successful does by no means it is good and vice versa.

I am not a spammer (I hope) and sadly not a developer but a good mix of the rest I guess :D

I would consider myself the same ;-)

I think that is a fair mix

Ja, das glaube ich auch ;)

I'm trying to be multiple. But You caught me on advertiser. It's important to make myselvf look cool and popular. It's the Thomas theorem, what actors believe to be real is real int it's consequences. Hit you up on steem chat if you ever looking to rent SP. Good Post!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94