When Steemit is your job (a dolphin`s confession)

in #rambling7 years ago (edited)

You think like apple wants you to think

different

dddd.png

When I look at my blog feed and the potential payouts I see rent, bills and food. Paid by seemingly magic money given by the community to me.

I read the concerns people have about steemit with some kind of fear and doubt.

Was that smart of you to go so all in here?

I think how much I need to get out to be at least break even.

I try to be part of the solution but I am also aware that I am part of the problem and I try to make this split to be an at least okish steemian.

I try to reward and support people I like. I try to be supportive of projects I like. I try to not abuse the system too much.

On the other hand I try to get support from others. I try to create an average $ on my posts were I can post 2 times a day and satisfy my needs.

To be honest I think I am doing ok. I self vote my posts and I post 2 to 3 times a day usually. The rest goes out to others.

Yes, I vote people who support me because guess what I need and want their support and I want them to support as well.

I know there are probably quite a lot now who hate this fact but I also vote for people who dont vote for me so dont loose your shit. It is part social network afterall meaning use your network you build here.

As I see this experiment we are having here still as risky despite how much I believe in it and want it to succeed I want to earn a "risk premium".

Meaning I can save up enough if shit hits the fan I would not be broke in a month and have enough time to find something new.

I like this community a lot.

But often I am surprised by how successful the "steemit is shit" posts are.

Shouldn`t we be the first ones to defend it? Or am I to blue eyed here? We will see how we develop from here.

While SMT sounds great for the price of the Steem token it will do nothing for Steemit.

I don`t really like the UI we are having. The search function sucks and I am not sure when I read about communities the last time.

But on the other hand things like dtube, dlive dMania and dsound are just to good to ignore and this is "just" the community.

I feel Steemit is not sure were it wants to go and what it wants to be.

A free market?

A place were people create art in every form and get rewarded for it?

A social network?

We are like a continent with thousands of small tribes with several warlords

We are enjoying the drama between the big boys on the trending pages.

Some get involved I like to stay out of it.

And somewhere in this chaos is me asking why the fuck do I want to be a part of this?

Money? Yes!

only money? Nooo?

If I am honest and I don`t think I am the only on here, I would not be this engaged if money would not be involved. But it is.

That is what people read on the first site.

That is how I tell my friends about steemit

That is how people get to know steemit on youtube

This is why I am trying to get something out everyday and spend quite an amount of time here. Because I see it as a job, I want it as my job and at the same time I want to have fun with my work.

For me this means sometimes creating a meme, looking for some pictures to take while I am outside or writing about non sense like now.

tenor (1).gif

Till then I will be a random guy trying to survive on Steempower

flipstar.jpg

Sort:  

Interesting .. Great post
The important thing is to work .. and who is working deserves
Well done

I think the key is to find a balance - Nobody can blame other for looking after themselves. It's the deepest human thrive to aim for you own benefits first.

The things is what comes after. If you work for the community, reward others, engage, etc., nobody will really blame you for looking after yourself too.

In the normal job world, everybody tries to earn the most he can as well. But you still have to work for something other than your own benefit as well. Otherwise you probably won't have a workplace in the first place ;)

Coming from medicine I can leave a quote which also applies here:

The dose makes the poison!

Hope I translated it right :P

Greets, Martin

To find that balance is an art I guess :-)

Good example with the workplace. I know you played poker as well and if you dont maximize your edge there you end up as a loosing player pretty fast.

I want to earn without screwing people over or sacrificing my earnings too much.

Here were so many ideas on what it is best for the platform crash together and what is ok and what not I find it sometimes hard to stay on my path.

I think you are a kind orca/Dolphin! You definitely care about the community and I definitely see you give a lot .

The thing some people have to realize though is that the actual value of Steem is created by people paying fiat money to invest in Steem. If it wasn't for these people Steem would have no value.

Now these peope as investors have to worry about the risk of this move and thus there has to be a focus on return as well, as you mention. Also why would people put in a lot of money here if they weren't expecting a return ? I don't think anyone would put in a lot of money into Steemit just by giving it away and being nice.

I did not know there is an orca status :-)

Yes, you are right. Steem has its value from the investors who are willing to pay fiat/btc for steem.

But I somehow feel I have a responsibility to the community. I guess that comes from all the support I get and also that one interact with others all the time.

There are useful Steemians, useless ones and the ones who are less the useless = harmful to the platform.

I want to be in the first 2.

I definitely hear what you are saying, and it's a double edged sword I guess, because those whales who are only focused on their individual gains will never see the Steem value reach its full potential value either

DQmWWsxSYimciE84KdANopLn8La1Kmg2Rwo18MXmRGUgo1A.png

I may just be a redfish, I like plankton better, but having a great blogger like you in the #ssg community is great. Cant wait to see some more of your silver and gold posts....

And yes there is an Orca status....

You are right. I can only curate and comment on what I can and hope it helps make the good content stay. You are a very noble dolphin in all respects, I don't think anyone doubts that. Then just wait and see what comes of communities and the dapps being made here. Those are more interesting to me than SMT's but they could be interesting too. I powered up a bit more today too and became a baby dolphin. Still trying. I'm still glad to have met all the awesome people that I have here, yourself included yo! I have met a good amount of really cool people here.. and I expect to meet more still!

That is probably the coolest part that you meet so many people. While SMTs and the probably increasing $ price of the steem token will also have an positiv effect on us all ( at the end of the day we still need some fiat) I am looking more forward to the dapps and updates for the steemit platform.

How far are you away from the dolphin status btw? It is 5k SP right?

I think just about everyone is here for the money lol and I don't mean that in a bad way. We all need money to live and no one is exempt from that so if we can find a cool community of folks and make money then life is good! Even though I am still new I try to use what little power I have to the best of my ability. Every little bit counts and the more good people on here doing good things the better.

Exactly, and in some causes those monies are life changing, eg. people from countries when they have to live for 1$ daily. Isn't that better option for them for gaining control of their lives? :)

that is something I really like about steemit. While it might be hard at the start to get there and seemingly impossible when you get there you are pretty free and a pretty cool way for some extra income.

I like the fact that I can help people getting there if I feel the person earned it.

Yes you are right there.

Why would people jump through all the loops otherwise. While I dont really like the comparison between facebook and steemit as I see them as something else I think you cant deny most of us could post our stuff there or on reddit as the interfaces are still bette imo.

I want to earn. It is my job atm and I want to earn good, too. I dont want to throw people under the bus while doing so and I really like the fact that I can have an positive impact on others with my vote here.

Cheers!


I kinda feel the same way. Might as well have some fun.

I will have a non flaming beer later ;-)

cheers.

If the fun should totally leave one day I will be gone

@flipster, well, i have heard many people who is totally relying on steemit as a full time job. I hope the community grow to the level were many people will take steemit as a full job

that would be cool. as it makes people really free to follow their passion find like minded people and maybe even make a living with something and sharing it which seemed to be impossible before.

Well said. Is it about the money? Yes. Anyone who says otherwise isn't being honest with themselves.

Is it only about the money? No. And that's an important distinction.

Agreed.

I have to vote you as I see you are concerned not only of your future but of the whole community.
This platform is here to stay and grow up.
Keep up your good work!

Thx.

We fly together or we go under togehter the community is the strongest part steemit has to offer I think

We will fly together!

Du sprichst mir gerade aus der Seele. Der Artikel könnte 1zu1 so von mir heute kommen, aber nun warst Du schneller. Bis auf einen Punkt: Wie Du 1-2 Artikel am Tag schaffst ist mir schleierhaft. Der Gedanke überfordert mich.

Lese Dein Zeug gerne, ist immer sehr erfrischend, toll das Du hier bist.

Das freut mich. :-)

Na ja manchmal ist es ein Bild oder ein Meme was ich poste.

Ich habe einige angefangen Artikel wo ich dann aufgehört habe dran zu schreiben die ich manchmal zu Ende bringe und eine Liste mit Ideen über was ich noch schreiben möchte.

So eine Liste habe ich mir nun auch angelegt. Oft ist es hiermit allerdings ähnlich wie mit Netflix, wenn ich mich zum fünften mal (beim zappen) gegen den Artikel entschieden habe, werde ich ihn wohl nicht mehr schreiben. Aber ich hab auch welche wieder ausgegraben, geschrieben und veröffentlicht.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63706.08
ETH 2615.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82