How do you use your crypto?

in #rambling6 years ago
Do you use your crypto in "real life"?
I think for many the answer will be "No, has not mooned yet"!

Web Comics  260 - Puns - Mooned.gif
source

As some of you might know, I started to buy gold and silver last year and I pay per Litecoin usually.

It helps me to keep a little bit of my sanity with those crazy swings.

While I have to admit, it did hurt sometimes to buy when LTC was a bit in weaker in $ terms, I wanted to stick to my plan and buy every month.

In a couple of years I hopefully will have paid 50x what I should have paid for my coins because 1 LTC will be worth so much.

And this is probably the reason many people dont want to use their crypto.

Most of my friends use their BTC only to buy altcoins to have more BTC to buy more altcoins.

For the same reason I am very cautious when it comes to spending as for now I have to use crypto if I need cash.

Which is a good thing tbh

Nevertheless I think it is important to actually use the coins for its purpose and for some this is the exchange of value.

With that the acceptance will be growing, which grows the network effect, which will make the coins more valuable.

steem dream.gif

Sort:  

I think many people take it for granted that crypto will continue going up. There Is no guarantee. I think taking some profit is very smart, especially when you lock it up in something that has been considered money for thousands of years and which at the moment is greatly undervalued! ( plus it's fun to collect coins hehe)

Out of 17 or 18 people I know in real life that own crypto , none use it at all. They are all speculating. One sells what they earn for usd to pay bills if that counts but the rest just hold. I feel that’s 99% of what’s happening here.
Hey dude that’s awesome you used litecoin for metals! I used bitcoin to do same via JMBullion

I feel the same and I kind of do the same mostly :-)

I mostly use bitgild. as apmex and JMBullion are imo not the best choice for european

I end up using them sometimes to buy things like art etc from regular folks who sell things for crypto. That and i end up using it to power up so my vote is worth more on steemit lol

that is pretty cool actually.

You do this face 2 face or online most of the time?

Mostly online but have bought and sold in person with friends as well.

#WhenMoon 😂🤣

Indeed. I hold most of it. Use a little to buy things from friends for way over priced, but it gets them into crypto too so it's been worth it. I've been wanting to buy something off purse.io and see how it works but I prefer spending fiat on things, and spending the extra on crypto.

With that being said by far and large Steem has been the most useful crypto I have. I get to share coins with people, share ideas. Help people. All while I also make crypto for my contributions. Then I keep the Steem and spend the SBD on new coins I want. No other crypto has been that good to me this far.

Other than that I give out a little bat to a few people and use the brave browser as much as possible. I do fantasy sports and soon no limit poker with nlc2 coins. I sell my gas from my neo for other coins just like my sbd.

Up to this point those have been the only really useful coins outside of the 'wait moon, when moon?' coins lol.

What coins do you use aside from Steem? Your cashing into fiat so you get use out of ltc, eth, or btc too.. which all have value but are in my wait moon category lol.

I have bought a camera with BTC from a friend which was cool somehow.

Never used purse.io. Have used localbitcoin to get cash though.

I am using the BAT browser as well now as I really like it.

Like you said no other coin has been as useful as Steem.

I have some Lambo coins as well and Steem is actually one of them but I can put it to work and give and get steem but we both knew that already.

I hold my gas from neo but was thinking about buying more neo with it.

Well the claim is that one day gas will be worth more than NEO. So holding it might be the right move. Buying more of what produces the gas can't be a bad idea either though!

It takes a a lot of time to starting using crypto in your really life ,most people prefer buying more altcoins and i'm one of them Hhh.

when it will get as easy as sending an email it will get used more I think

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

I actually sold 167 euros worth of xlm to buy silver. Now it is just sitting in my account because I think that I shouldn't have even sold that much.
For last 3-4 weeks I came in touch with steemsilvergold and got the stackitus bug and decided that it was time to sell some crypto to buy silver.
Now after selling I am having a bit of doubt about my choice..............maybe for 167 Euros is too much. Maybe I should just have used 50 or maybe even 100. I don't know anymore...........

I used bitcoin to buy silver also toward the top in dec & Jan but otherwise I’m just holding

I think when you hold your silver you will be happy.

I remember when I bought silver the first time with crypto it felt pretty shitty but now I am pretty happy actually as I am building another asset class portfolio for myself which I like.

What did you buy?

I didn't buy anything till now. I just sold my xlm two days ago and now I just have the money sitting in my account.
I am targeting the most common 1 oz items - A couple of American silver eagles, A Canadian maple, A biscuit I found with a local dealer in Warsaw and if possible a 0.999 1oz. by National bank of Poland (since I am living in Wasraw these days - makes sense to purchase something local.)

what you said is exactly true . the real use of bitcoin is to do peer to peer transaction but people who love bitcoin are just holding them tight . even I am one among them love to increase my btc count .

If there just would be more ways to pay directly with SBD :D

That would be awsome! But I already bought silver directly with SBD to be fair.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65