You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Triggering the Troops

in #ramblerant5 years ago (edited)

As a: retired member of the military, a lifetime member of the American Legion and Non-commissioned Officers Association and also a member of Veterans for Peace; I must say your diatribe is very nasty and distasteful.

I have witnessed war first hand. I have seen it up close and hate it more than anyone can imagine. Yet; sad to say it is a necessity. Your attack on those of us that have served in the military hurts us a great deal. Many of us deal with our own guilt and the ghosts that haunt us.

Often when people thank me for my service, I feel very peculiar. I do not feel that I am worthy of that thanks.

I speak for myself and some of those I have known and currently know that are Veterans.

Thank you for your attack on our honor. I believe in free speech, and will defend your right to say what you like. That does not make you any less an ass-hat. That is my freedom of speech. Thank you for hurting my sisters and brothers that have served honorably and have sacrificed physically and mentally.

I do not ask for your respect. I do not ask for you to salute me or even like me. As I said, I hate war more than many could ever imagine, yet; if called upon, I would once again serve. I am being as civil as I can. So continue to attack those that serve, that is your right. Expect those that you insult to respond.

You are a recipient of my infrequent down-vote, because evidently you are just a dick.

Sort:  

You say war is a necessity. However, under what definition of just war has the US deployed troops since WWII? It has all been old men sending young men to fight and die for their political ambitions, not defense of hearth and home.

You believe I attack your honor. I do not. I question your actions and their effects, regardless of your motivations. I question the model of the military. I question the politics behind military adventurism. Especially in a world where the military is not conscripted, it is the duty of the soldier to examine the premises and principles behind his choices and actions. But the military teaches obedience, not critical thought. This is a pitfall if the goal is defending freedom.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45