Rally News: Breen left in the cold?

in #rally7 years ago

After his best result ever, with a 2nd place at Rally Sweden, Craig Breen now have to wait until YPF Rally Argentina to drive again. Breen's Citroën is going to be driven by former champion Sebastien Loeb for the next 2 rounds. Even though Loeb has won the WRC 9 times, he has stayed away from the circus for many years now. Is it wise of Citroën to drop Breen, who seem to be on a roll, for the former Champion?


Photo Source

Here's what Breen told Autosport:

"This result is just awesome. The podium in Finland a couple of years ago was special, but here we were right up there fighting at the front. We were fighting consistently in that position and that's something new for me and it's something I'm desperate to build on.

I wanted to kick on last year, but for whatever reason it didn't quite happen and we didn't get any more podiums - we had the consistency, but not always the outright speed. I'd love to be able to move forward from here and that has to be the aim, but we're out for a while now. There's no two ways about it, I've got to say I'm absolutely gutted not to be going to Mexico for the next round. I'd love to take the momentum we have built here. Obviously it's not my choice. I hope Seb has fun."

What are your thoughts about this? Do you think Loeb will secure Citroën more points than Breen?


New Source

Sort:  

It's a shame for Breen, he did a great rally with the C3, very good progression of the car compared to last year (undriveable).
We'll see what Loeb will do for the next two rallies after his failed Dakar. I'm not sure about it, just for Citroen to advertise with the return of Loeb...

Good point @heroldius. What is more important: PR or manufacturer points..?

100% PR :-)

interesting post driftnerd .It would be better to drop Kris Meeke , he is already 38 without future in the sport and give 28 yo Breen a chance . Now they cut Breen's wings , it's just wrong .

I like Meek, but he isn't consistent at all, which you have to be. The question is if Breen will be more consistent. I'm not sure about that... Will be interesting to see.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63459.73
ETH 2599.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78