Math Rock and Half-Pipe Skate Action at Shredfest 3!! (Show Report // Raleigh Life)

in #raleigh6 years ago

Raleigh Update: Shredfest 3 was AWESOME.

Yesterday night I tagged along with @emelanson and the Zephyranthes crew to a crazy house show / skate park thing.

Raleigh’s music scene is amazing in large part thanks to the variety and quality of venues here. We have house venues, art spaces, clubs, gigantic rock star venues (PNC Arena), yearly events (Hopscotch Fest, NC State Fair), on and on it goes.

This time we went to Shredfest. Shredfest 3 to be exact. It was a great time.

Heading Out to the Venue

The first thing Elijah told me when I got to his house was: “Where’s your jacket?”

“What do you mean?”

“…it’s an outdoor show.”

OH SHIT

I ran back home to grab my sweatshirt. Outdoors? House show? Like, in some dude’s backyard surrounded by other houses? Apparently.

After arriving, I was stoked to survey the scene. It wasn’t just an outdoor house show complete with a big wooden stage on the edge of the backyard - it was also a legitimate skate hang. There was a big ol’ half pipe and a ton of great skaters shredding it.

Skateboardin and Math Rockin

I have to admit that I didn’t get as much footage as I’d hoped (too busy drinking beer lol, oops)… Nonetheless, here’s an early clip of some skate shred:

Soon thereafter, the music started. Here’s Noah Cross, the first band, who laid down some sweet indie jams punctuated by occasional mathy heaviness:


Noah Cross from Raleigh

This band was fun, I liked the songwriting a lot. It was one of their first gigs, and I could see how they might be even better if they play like, 50 gigs, lol. Just need to hit the road a bit to tighten up, because there’s a lot of potential in the sound.

Steem Recruitment - Another One Joins the Steem!

I had a quick conversation with my friend Sean when we were standing at the keg drinking a bunch of beer - I was drinking pretty hard for me, lol - and Sean mentioned he knows a guy who is into cryptocurrency, runs some kind of business incubator in town. “Do you want to meet him?” uh…. YES.

BTW - Sean’s steemit account just got activated yesterday. Give him a follow, if all goes to plan I’ll be helping him start on the right foot with some great content: @existilysis

The other band I want to mention is Night Idea, a tight as fuck four piece blending chill stoner psychedelic jams with intense hard math moments. They came down from Richmond Virginia to shred our faces off.

Night Idea were awesome. The show is laser-tight, worth seeing if you enjoy Pink Floyd’s brand of chill prog. Check it out:


Note: YouTube is being weird with this clip for some reason - hopefully it'll be working when you look at this

Love it!

Energized

After yesterday’s fun, I am energized. I set some clear goals for myself this week, ambitious but doable… and there’s a lot of stuff in the works. In particular, here’s what you can expect to hear about later this week:

(1) New Updates for the Steem-Powered Venue, The Kosher Hut
(2) More Updates in my “Token Investigation” Series
(3) Curating as a new @curie sub-community for musicians alongside @kevinwong and @edje - REALLY stoked about this :-)

And some other stuff besides… so much going on!

Did you do anything rad this weekend? Let me know in the comments :-)

Sort:  

That was freakin RAD! I would be so pumped to be at that party.
Life is good right there.

PS. I ordered a shift card from coinbase. We'll see how it works. I'll let you know.

Life was and is good!

Looking forward to hearing your experience with the shift card - I think a few other steemians have ordered it recently, we'll be able to share our stories and see what the overall opinion is. Should be cool :-)

Wow that fest looks awesome. I am a skater as well so right up my street. The blast of the band sounded a little like Husker DU which is rad.

It was a lot of fun! You can skate when you

great job.your post is always good.i always resteem upvote you.i also follow you.i get insperiation from you.many thanks @heymattsokol

Skateboarding hmmmm....scared of falling though......lol

me too lol that's why I only watch

Looks like a really cool grass roots underground even. I love the makeshift stage and the laid-back punky vibe! :)

Unfortunately the Night Idea video is not working. You can alsways get that one on DTube or something like that?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78