An Interactive Session With @nepd.. Founder Hairshares Project

in #rainmakers7 years ago (edited)

U5dsXoUcSG6vuLFbMjZ5etrPPyCkHmy_1680x8400.png


Our guest on The Rainmakers this week is @nepd, the brains behind the amazing hairshares project. He is a Man on a Mission and he has been getting responses from the community, as some loving Steemians have donated their hair to the hairshare project.

Make sure to follow him and the @hairshares account for more information

Ladies and Gentlemen, i give you @nepd


DQmXSBP7AkMJNfCMmEYmabx6aWEQXhdktskPi6ybbKNZ56y_1680x8400.png

@nepd


Ogochukwu : What is your name and where do you come from

Nepd: My name is James Christensen and I'm from Iowa, a centrally located in the United States. My family is Danish and became citizens near the start of the 20th century.


Ogochukwu : How did you learn about Steemit and why did You decide to join

Nepd : I followed a link on a Gridcoin IRC channel... I joined on a whim and immediately felt it was a great place.


Ogochukwu: What has your presence on Steemit taught you

Nepd: I've learned that gamification is incredibly powerful. People act so differently with the promise of rewards.


Ogochukwu: What is your personal definition of Steemit

Nepd: Like a church is only a building, Steemit is merely a platform. We are only as good as the community that makes it up.


Ogochukwu: What have you found to be the biggest misconception about Steemit

Nepd : That you can't make any money unless you started in mid-2016. I've done very well for myself starting with nothing and zero connections only a few short months ago.


Ogochukwu : Are you a full time Steemit blogger?, If your answer is no, how do you structure your day around steemit and work

Nepd : I'm a teacher/coach, so during the summer I have some more free time. During the football and tennis seasons, my time is a bit curtailed and I have to prioritize what I choose to write about.


Ogochukwu : Do you have any prior experience with cryptocurrency before Steemit

Nepd: I started with Gridcoin in March of 2016 and did some light mining. I also used some BTC faucets and lent BTC on Poloniex. I was very much a naive user before joining Steemit.


Ogochukwu: You are the brain behind the Hairshares project, tell us what it is all about

Nepd: Hairshares is all about encouraging and reward people who donate their to worthy projects like Wigs for Kids, Beautiful Lengths or Locks for Love. We've been a direct part of four donations and counting!


Ogochukwu: What inspired the Hairshares project and tell us more about the token backing it

Nepd: The Hairshares project was inspired by my late mother-in-law, who wore a wig after going through chemotherapy. The HAIRSHARE token is meant to reward those who choose to honor her by donating their hair.

Each token can be exchanged for a vote (currently 10% - about 15 cents) from the @nepd account. It is currently a manual process, but I'm working on automation and securing more Steem Power.


Ogochukwu: What other forms of project would you like to see on the Steem Blockchain

Nepd: I'm a former sportswriter that would love to see the Sporting community grow on Steemit.


Ogochukwu: What advice do you have for anyone planning to start a similar project like Hairshares

Don't build a token just to build a token. Make sure that it has a purpose and fits with what you are trying to do. If you're doing it for the money or to make your BTS account look cool, think twice.


Ogochukwu: Who are the people who have inspired you here on Steemit

Nepd: @officialfuzzy helped me greatly at the onset of the Hairshares project. I've learned a ton from @cm-steem. The generosity of @lindahas is amazing. The comraderie of @sevinwilson and @lydon.sipe has been incredible.


Ogochukwu: Are there any other projects like Hairshares that you would like to bring to our attention

Nepd: I'd hate to single out just one of the cool projects that I see here on Steemit. I encourage people to find a problem in the world and try to solve it. The solution is out there.


Ogochukwu: If you are allowed to own only one cryptocurrency which one would you chose and Why

Nepd: I'm going to cheat here and say PeerPlays, because eventually holding PPY will give me access to a plethora of other cryptoassets as well.


What advice would you give Steemians who just joined the platform

Nepd: Be patient. Don't take shortcuts. Have fun.


Thanks for reading

Read My Last Post: The One Secret Writing Skill That's Gets Your Posts Read (It's Not A Header)

Rainmaker Logo Designed by @ogochukwu

Follow @ogochukwu

Sort:  

Thanks for featuring the @hairshares project!

I enjoy these interviews @ogochukwu.
It has been a blast to interact with James on Steemit, and your poignant questions unleashed his passions for us all to see. Let's keep growing @nepd!

Thanks a lot my friend for bringing more light on this awesome project, many of us here were really not aware of the @hairshares one.
I'm so glad to learn @nepd too, amazing human being!
Wish him and his project a lot of success ahead.
Thanks so much!
@progressivechef

This is a good idea. I am happy you steem good post everytime. It was great to know that @nepd was featured here. The advice he gave is a watchword I have learnt, I am happy he resounded it. "Be patient"

nice and interesting interview my friend :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.73
ETH 3012.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84