Migrating Linux (mdadm) Raid to Synlogy

in #raid6 years ago

Unfortunately Synlology doesn't recognize a standard mdadm raid setup. The disks will be formatted once they're moved. So I had to figure out a way to move the data around.

I lucked out that I wasn't using most of my raid space. I have a Raid 5, 3x2TB and I'm only using about 1.5 TB of space. So any single disk will be able to contain all of the data in my raid.

I've posted this in the past, but my raid disks are sdb1, sdc1, sdd1.

Step 1. Remove one of the disks from the raid.

mdadm --fail /dev/md0 /dev/sdb1
mdadm --remove /dev/md0 /dev/sdb1

Step 2. Format and mount new drive.

mkfs -t ext4 /dev/sdb1 
mkdir /media/transition
mount /dev/sdb1 /media/transition.

Step 3. Copy raid data to new parition

rsync -avP /media/raid /media/transition

Step 4

Turn off computer, disconnect the drives and identify the disk that you've copied the data to.

The only disk that should be able to mount should be sdb1. Transfer the 2 disks to the NAS, as they will be erased shortly.

(Fair warning: You now only have 1 copy of the data, so I try to get this data migrated as fast as possible. single copy of data always makes me nervous )

Step 5:

If you haven't already setup rsync over ssh on your NAS.

Step 6

If you have an external drive enclosure, connect the drive externally to your NAS and copy the data in, or the cheapsake solution is rysnc over ssh.

rsync -avP /media/transaition   admin@nas-ip-address:/volume1/newRaid/

Step 7:

Convert raid 1, to a raid 5

Follow the instructions listed here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60061.12
ETH 3196.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45