Rage quitting

in #ragequit7 years ago (edited)

quit.jpg

So I had an entirely different post planned today. I saw black panther yesterday, and loved it. I wanted to do a no spoiler review and some fan art to go along with it.

NOPE

I've been sick this last week and my brain was not having it...
About 60% through the fan art I was making... I irreversibly messed up.

This is the struggle of traditional media

Some may say (bob ross)... Oh well... make it into something else.... its a happy mistake...

NOPE

Since I was a child, I have had an extremely hard time with mistakes (only when it comes to art). I remember the first time my mom ever heard me swear was while getting upset at a piece I was drawing. As soon as I mess up and realize there is no going back, without skipping a beat, instantly, and like clockwork....

I RAGE QUIT

For me this typically is a few step process. I will immediately scribble/paint/smudge as much as I possibly can to make it worse, I will then fold/crumple the paper, and if I am especially frustrated, it gets completely ripped up.

This is probably me at my peak emotions as far as being angry/frustrated/upset. I do not typically let my emotions rule me, but I have realized that this is the rare exception.

What about you?

  • What is your most memorable rage quit?
  • What makes you rage quit most often?
  • What do you do when you rage quit?

monsterfooter_LI.jpg

Sort:  

Things will fly. When I reach the point of (rage) quitting, whichever tool I have in my hand will become airborne, until it hits something and the beeyatch that is gravity kicks in.

Most memorable rage quit for me was when I was 13 hours into the original Dark Souls and died over some stupid bullshit and just finally lost it and rage uninstalled the game from my PC, and I also threw my controller up in the air. I love Dark Souls, but I also fucking hate Dark Souls.

I can't stand losing games. I'm horrible at it.
I cope with it if I know that game is more based on pure luck, but if it's skill based i can't handle losing. Now days i just get cranky, but when i was kid i remember that i throw monopoly board from balcony when i lost the game to my big bro.

Usually for me this is editing photos.... me rage quitting equals resetting everything I have done and not even looking back at an image for days or even years if it pissed me off enough!!

I lose it for Overwatch. I don’t lash out, I basically mute everything. I’ll finish the game, click things furiously, open n close a program or too, maybe even delete a picture I’m in the middle of editing. I go into a hushed bitch fit lol

That's what Overwatch does to people, lol.

I use to rage quit when me and a buddy would go head to head on street fighter alpha 3, I played that dang game 20hours a week and he still would wipe the floor with me. I threw a controller once. heck I could wear out a d-pad in a month LOL but besides that I am not a competitive person so things do not normaly get to me.

But I can understand you and your artwork. its a shame though I bet the stuff you dont like about a project would still blow peoples minds.. When I worked at a copy center and do projects for people I always pointed out things I was not happy with the job. But I had to learn not to do that. We are our worst critics.

hope you get to feeling better!!! and have a good night @saywha !!

The only thing I can't think of that has made me rage quit would be working on cars. It frustrates me because it doesn't take long to realize that all car manufacturers find humor in making things incredibly difficult for the average joe...everything needs a special tool or you can't reach a part without removing every other part around it..Or worse...both.

dude. HVAC is the same sometimes. The worst is freaking Lennox man... everyone uses normal parts except for them...

As for me, I hardly upset with my self but anytime I didn't express myself very well concerning a situation in a public, after the sineniaro I go to an enclosed place and shout at my self... Whyyyyyyyyy? and at that moment anything I lay hold on I will throw it away.

I use digital medium lately for my paintings, so I rage quit by saving a copy and starting a new painting. I discovered I can come back to some of these paintings and fix them after a day or two, and some not - those end up being in the trash.

I've been using digital a lot too, but I really just love traditional

This is why I can’t draw on traditional media.

It always starts with “oh I’ll just fix this really quick”.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63188.04
ETH 2570.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79