You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Korean Radish Side Dishes - Kkakdugi and Mumallaengi

in #radish5 years ago

Wow what a post!

I love Korean food and will have to have my better half look into preparing these as we slip into vegetarianism.

I have to admit that for English folks, kackdoogie and mummalayngi don’t sound too appetizing as names ;)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

There are a lot of side dishes that are basically vegetarian here. Fish sauce or oyster suace is only really an issue for vegans and strict vegetarians, but soy sauce and mushroom sauce serve the same function which is to add rich flavored salt. I usually go 50-50 because i like salty but not fishy tastes. However I ate so much korean side dishes I can't fool myself into thinking 100% vegan is authentic.

The names are bad and really confusing for people not used to it, thats why I do like to give an english one as well. The government and others have been trying to standardize english names for popular dishes.

Pickled radish may sound better than fermented spicy radish, but cubed radish is fine....the details are in the description. Pizza is hardly a description of the dish. Just make it sound appetizing. On the flip side, we use words like veal instead of baby cow or venison instead of deer for a reason, too. Even though they are descriptive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55789.30
ETH 2345.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31