My "internship" at a university radio

in #radio6 years ago

logo.png

So after finishing my last exams I did kind of an internship at the radio station that my university is participating in called Horads 88,6. Horads stands for "HOchschulRAdio Stuttgart" which can be roughly translated to "university radio Stuttgart" in English.

Since I'm quite shy I had to force myself quite a bit to do this. Speaking in front of people isn't exactly one of my strenghts and although you don't see the people you're talking to when you work at the radio, that doesn't really make it easier. But there also was another force that pushed me to do this. My studies of communication science. If you've read my introductory post you already know that I study communication science and for the ones new to my posts... now you know, too.

So after having made this experience, I honestly don't know why I worried so much beforehand in the first place. Despite having not much time to prepare the topics due to certain circumstances it was a lot of fun. I got along quite well with the other participants and so I was even looking forward to coming there.

But enough of my worries. What did I have to do there? Well, since it was just a week I only got a glimpse of working at a radio but our week already consisted of four shows, each either one or two hours long. On tuesday, the first show was one hour long and everybody had to prepare just one article to get used to writing for the radio. As you may know there's almost nobody left who really concentrates on listening to the radio anymore. It's become a media for background use and so sentences mustn't be long or complicated. So almost the opposite of what I'm doing here. On wednesday and thursday our show was already two hours long and besides more articles to prepare we also did the moderation completely by ourselves. On friday, finally, there was a special show of one hour length which topic we could choose for ourselves. We decided on "minimalism" which isn't exactly a topic that I'm familiar with. But nevertehless it turned out quite nicely.

If you're interested now in how my first week at a radio sounded like, I'm going to provide some links to soundcloud where you can listen to my voice. And if you're able to understand German you might even understand what exactly I'm talking about.

At first, we've got the recommendation of "Kimi no Na wa", an anime film that recently made it into german cinemas. I even wrote a post about it here. I thought that since it fits the topics that I normally cover here, I'll show it to you:

Next up is a topic that is particularly interesting for students here in Germany. I'm talking about the plans for free usage of public transport:

And last but not least the link to our special show about "minimalism":

To all who think about doing something like this I can really recommend it, it's a very nice experience. Now thanks for reading and have a nice day you all.

P.S.: Our studio looked like this by the way:

IMG_20180216_140812.jpg

Cozy, isn't it?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61740.86
ETH 3453.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51