Mini Series Time: [How to] Internet Radio Station part 2 - get that planning on

in #radio7 years ago

Podcast progress

I am still busy configuring my software, and dismantling the screen of my old laptop. The main reason I have not been using it is that two dogs ran into the charging cable over the years, dragging it to its doom, and it fell. Mostly breaking the screen's chasy, the lcd is still working fine and I am thinking of repacking the whole laptop into a wall mounted perspex casing with a wireless mouse and keyboard, since it will be running Rivendell exclusively.

Another thing that I want to touch on is that there is another barrier of entry, Rivendell is not plug and play, I have also been struggling to find useful content concerning the setup and use online. So the research is a sink of time right now, and if you are thinking about doing your own thing Rivendell is not essential. There are other systems that are much simpler, and closer to your reach than a system which immulates the professional environment.

While I am busy sorting out these aspects I have been doing some very informal outreach in discovering whether there is a space for what I want to do in the ecosystem that is steemit - This comes from my marketing background, and it is better to kill the frankenstein baby before it is ready to walk, in this case I am not trying to sell a frankenstein baby so we are all good.

Next Level

we have discussed equipment and all the ways in which I have complicated this, but I am going to do my utmost best to complicate this even more. The question we are contemplating today is: what are the short-term benefits of audio in your steemit efforts? I am also going to discuss how you can start planning your podcast, and this is going to lead me to create quite a professional document that I can use to start pitching my show to people that are interested in it. This brings us nearly to the end of this mini series, because once these things are in place I am one step away from a complete implementation. Now onto the content!

What are the short-term benefits of audio in your steemit effort? ( and more equipment )

With writing you can take your time, and before you publish you can send it through several rounds of editing, so that by the time it is in front of your audience it is as perfect as it could get. You could also gather a core group that represents your target audiences and adjust the content according to their feedback.

Audio is far less forgiving, and if you do not have the fortitude required you will not stand up to the plate, this is the truth for most people and what this means is that there is far less competition in the audio sphere than there is in the writing sphere. This is show to be the case on Steemit, and by taking to audio while it is a bit more daunting it has a bigger reward.

But there is more. With Audio you do not have to choose between writing and audio, in fact you can combine them and to do that you need some more software. That software is a pain in the beginning, but as you get better with it your productivity will burst through the threshold you thought you had.

What you will need is a microphone and a speech to text engine like dragon naturally speaking, which is what I will be using. I speak much faster than I write, while with the writing there is far less rambling than when talking I can create a hybrid of the two by transcribing my thoughts from their native space in speech into text and then I can run a fine comb through it, editing what I spoke into coherent articles and essays. Hell I could even use this process to quickly write a book, this method can take you two to three hours of brain dumping and a little more research and some more recording to put out a five to six hour audio book which is transcribed automatically into the manuscript.

Another thing that can be done over audio is preparing for video, and this is because communication is a whole body behaviour and the more you put into your communication in terms of whole body expressions the more dynamic you become in your communication. While you get used to putting your whole self out there it is better to do so over the audio medium because it still gives you some level of anonymity, which makes it much less daunting than making the first steps blunders that are inevitable to happen.

So there you go, the short-term benefits of audio are: (1) Less competition, (2) It (can) make writing a much faster experience, and (3) It is the midpoint in-between writing and video.

Some people are into the longer processes, but I am over perfectionism. This came after reading The First 20 Hours where as an illustration was provided in the form of a study. Two groups were task in learning how to create pots on a pottery wheel. The first group was told to focus on perfecting each pot, while the second was tasked with pushing out quantity. The results were that the second group did not only push out more pots they also produced much better pots than the perfectionists. - do not take this too far, we all know that good quality content wins here on steemit. So bad quality content can be compared to mud cakes; do not make mud cakes or mud pots and expect people to treat it like propper pots.

That podcast plan that will impress your marks

Here is the gist of the plan, and I just went through it ( https://www.sarkemedia.com/podcast-marketing-strategy/ ) The first section is about how you will attract and interact with your audience, how the whole gig will be promoted, and how it will be monetised if that is how it is how you are going to play it.

From there you have to decide what the format for the your show. Since you know what my set up is, you know that my format is going to be a hybrid radio show and a podcast. This gives me a lot of room as there are both live and downloadable aspects to my content allowing me to keep things light and on the surface to keep the conversation going and then diving in deep into specific things that people can choose not to listen to them if the topic is not to their liking. This was a basic outline to this plan and what needs to happen from here is that I must create a document that turns this information into a pitch that will impress somebody who is looking for content producers for their network.

What is impressive is your value proposition, and my value proposition is that my show is backed up by a system that radio stations use to manage their content and with some extra effort I can extend this functionality through to other hosts, with remote desktop technology. This is the practical value that my contribution to a network entails, I am not merely a voice but also a part of the capital that is invested in the network.

I am emphasising this to you right now, because this is the decisive point that those with decision making power need to pass through; they need to answer the question of whether you are adding value to the organism, or taking value from the organism . Your Ideas do not matter if they are not backed up with vested interest on your part, whether it is the time you sank into developing your skills to an acceptable level or whether it is the money you spent on equipment that allows benefit the entire organism. Back up what you say with action, that results in a beneficial reality to those around you, this will ensure that you are held in good esteem the world over.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57515.20
ETH 2438.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34