Stomach Butterflies

in #radicalindividualism6 years ago (edited)

Chuang Tzu and Hui Tzu were walking next to the River Hao one evening when the following discussion occured.

Chuang Tzu: Look! Look at those fish swimming around so close to the surface and doing as they please. That is what fish really enjoy!

Hui Tzu: You aren't a fish. How can you say you know what a fish enjoys?

Chuang Tzu: You aren't me, so how can you know that I don't know what a fish enjoys?

Hui Tzu: I am most certainly not you, so I don't know what you know; You are definitely not a fish, so you don't know what a fish enjoys. So, there.

Chuang Tzu: Wait. Let's go back to the question, if you don't mind. You asked how I could know what a fish really enjoys. You already knew that I knew when you asked. I know by being here at the River Hao.

(paraphrased from The Book of Chuang Tzu translated by Palmer and Breuilly)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65348.61
ETH 3557.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45