Students offered extra credit to determine their level of ‘white privilege’

in #racism7 years ago

Students in a sociology class at San Diego State University can earn extra credit if they take a quiz to determine their level of “white privilege.”

Professor Dae Elliott offered the option to her sociology class students, a “White Privilege Checklist” that includes 20 questions that aim to illustrate that “racial privilege is one form of privilege.”

Shall we take the test? I think I'll take it but defend myself with truth and logic and not my 'White privilege'

  1. I choose to associate with people of my own race, sex, color, beliefs, religion and political party not because it's white privilege but because every race does the exact same thing and discrimination and tribalism is an important part of human existence.

  2. Yup, don't get followed because I don't dress like a thug, white trash or have tattoos all over my body. Those people get followed around a store because they fit the profile of a shop lifter more than someone that is well groomed and dressed.

  3. Yes, because white European ancestry are the majority in my area and America. If I moved to China, Afica or India I expect to see those races dominating television.

  4. Yes, because white's are the majority and did most of the work shaping America. I don't expect to go to Japan and learn how white or black people shaped the face of Japanese history.

  5. Umm, like white paper and glue? Don't even know how to respond this one.

  6. I can find hundreds of different types of music, food and hairstyles at each of these stores. I'm sorry if you live in Antarctica and expected to see penguin and kill whale on the menu but it's all about supply and demand not racism.

  7. I can count on my dress, grooming, work history and credit score to show that I'm financially responsible.

  8. Ok, I admitted. I'm high prejudice against people that smell like ass for a good reason because nasty smelly stuff is a sign of disease and I don't like disease.

  9. Not really worried about it because you can go to any third world country an experience it a thousand times worse than here in America.

  10. That's because some minorities actually got into college based on their race even if there were better qualified whites or asians.

I think you get the picture of what I'm saying. This teach seems more interesting in causing psychology problems in these students instead of actually explaining why racism, prejudices, tribalism are part of human nature and why it might not always be a bad thing like being prejudice against dating the same sex.

Fuck this brain washing bitch.

https://www.thecollegefix.com/post/36904/

Sort:  
Loading...

Ridiculous... absolutely ridiculous.

Is this extra credit test open to only white students, since it would be kind of stupid for non-whites to take a white privilege test. It so, they could use that as an example of their white privilege, they can get extra credit and non-whites can't.
I'm not surprised this is a college in California, the place where all ridiculousness starts.

Oh i'm sure it's only for whites.

completely outrageous, and perhaps the greatest irony is those "high-brow" intellectuals who wrote this pile of crock couldn't even be bothered to correct their writing:

Racial privilege is only one forms of privilege.
I can easily by posters ...

This garbage must be written by the "White Man", cuz only white privileged dudes would not be "expected" to grammar and spellcheck their work...

NO I can arrange to be in the company of people of my race most of the time.

probably not... I really don't have any friends left since the election. Guess that's what I get for supporting STOFFEL the HoneyBadger for President! lol

Link: STOFFEL for President 2016!

I can be late to a meeting without having the lateness reflect on my race.

I used to have a bunch of Indian friends way back who used to always show up two hours late nearly every time we were supposed to meet up (the other time was maybe only one hour late). They themselves used to joke they were all on "Indian Time". We all laughed, and I didn't argue. We just learned to "accept it" and work around it.

I now understand it must have been attributable to my white privilege that they felt the need to "justify" themselves, and I was being racist for not challenging their self-deprecating remarks... lol

Damn, didn't realize I was culturally appropriating Indian time for all the times I was late for something. I better check my white privilege.

? How to Tell You Live In A Politically Correct & Well Integrated Community-

  1. You feel as if you have to pack heat to go to the grocery store in BROAD DAYLIGHT- otherwise you might be RAPED, ROBBED, BEATEN UP. And you pass by many broken Colt 45 beer bottles in the Grass & used condoms on the sidewalk.

please dear God- tell me this is NOT Happening in North Dakota. I was referring to Chicago

Maybe not as bad as some areas of Chicago but it was pretty scary for a young woman in bakken region during the oil boom. With a population of 10 men to 1 woman and most of them being out of state or illegals. I don't think it's as bad as it use to be but we still have plenty of shady individuals. Definitely can't leave the doors unlocked like my parents did when I was a kid.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61740.86
ETH 3453.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51