White Supremacist In Africa. Episode 1

in #racism7 years ago

One may begin to wonder if one was really on Earth. The sounds from the yellow buses, the smelly gutters and the yelling women. Just 30 minutes into Lagos and i was already irritated.

I quickly adjusted my trousers as i made my way into an hotel i had already booked while at California. I had just gotten a job with an international research company to make some researches on Africa and Nigeria was their first choice. I already have heard special stories about this country, her rich culture, social vices and an always busy lifestyle. While at the hotel, my thoughts were already traveling far and i kept thinking i would survive the next 2 years in Nigeria. I was someone who hated blacks and would kill one if given the opportunity. I always thought they were inferior even though they have proven me otherwise several times. But now i was going to spend 2 years of my life living among those i hated. This was a job i planned to decline but when i heard it was Nigeria, my adventurous spirit accepted the offer. Little did i knew it will change my perspective of how i viewed blacks and even Life in entirety.

That night i slept wondering how unpleasant my experience would be, how Nigerians might hate me, how i might fall sick because of malaria or how their local ladies will be on bed.
"Ba wo ni!" I heard an elderly man said. The language which the man spoke sounded melodious, i later found out it was the Yoruba language. Today i was going to visit Mr Kayode. He's my guide through out my stay in Nigeria. I decided to stroll down the street before boarding a taxi, everywhere seems to be a different planet entirely. Here was different from America. Everywhere seems to be full of chaos but yet one could still feel the beauty from this chaos.

Along the street i could see a little boy hawking fresh fruits, i decided to buy some. After running my hands through his fresh bananas, i picked a bunch and handed over to him 200 Naira. He gave me a change of 150 Naira. I can still see the smiles from his cheeks, i can still feel the honesty radiating from his eyes.

Though the boy knew i was a foreigner but he never cheated me but rather taught me some lessons. From just this little encounter with this little boy, i learnt three things such as:

One could still be happy despite all odds of life.
One could still be honest despite having the chance to cheat.
One could still love others despite our different races.

30 minutes later i was at my base at Ikeja where i met Mr Kayode and other members of our team. I was welcomed warmly with beautiful smiles but i wasn't going to let it melt my heart. I was served with Jollof rice and Chicken, firstly i never wanted to eat it but the hunger crying in my stomach said otherwise. After 10 minutes i was asking for more, the meal was very delicious and it was prepared from rice and great spices. After finishing my second plate, i washed it down with a local juice called zobo.
"Can i have the file and documents for this research we are..."
"Go ask Mr Kayode!" The young interrupted me.

I looked at him a second time but he wasn't smiling or looking at me, he was just busy with his computer. I decided to ask again.

"I was told by Miss Ngozi to collect the files from you"
I continued
"But i'm talking to you and why you not answering? Do you know that i'm your boss?"
Then he sparked.
"Can't you see i'm busy? I told you to f**king ask Kayode. You whites think you can always be boss over us? Do you know you are in my country? Abeg don't just disturb me"

"Do you know i can end your career? How dare you this black fool talk to me rudely?"

"Black fool? If you know your name is James repeat your statement"

"Consider yourself fired fool!"

He stood up so swiftly and slapped me. People had already began to gather and before i knew it again he had punched my red cheeks. I tried to throw punches but Kayode and others were already separating us.

"Akeem, kilode? Mr James what's the problem?"

I explained everything that had happened to Kayode but he told me i should have asked him after Akeem directed me to him. But I protested.

"No! I'm the boss here! And he should keep shut while i talk" I could here Akeem murmuring but i continued my speech.

"For insulting me and having physical confrontation with me, he is fired!"

"Please reconsider Mr James, Akeem is very good . He will change." Kayode tried pleading but Akeem said otherwise.

"F*ck you!"

Akeem picked up his bag and slammed the door behind him.

30 minutes later, Kayode came to me with a sad face.

"Is anything wrong?"

"I just received a call that Akeem was involved in an accident"

I gave him that "so what's my business" look but then i realized Akeem hasn't been fired officially and was still entitled to every benefits of the company.

"Arrange the vehicle, we are seeing Akeem."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60535.76
ETH 2598.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54