A racist encounter I had to deal with in high school

in #racism7 years ago

On a high school ski trip a huge fight almost broke up because me and a few of my friends of colored was sitting in the back. A group of kids boys and girls who where Caucasian who considered themselves popular wanted to sit in the back of the bus so that they can drink alcohol. Mind you this is 5 in the morning and we were late because they haven't came yet. So after they were 30 minutes late they came to the back approached us and said "we want to sit here" I said "we been here for 30 minutes already waiting for you, you just got to what ever seats are left" They said "you blacks fought so hard to sit in the front of the bus and now you want to stay in the back". Me and one other classmate of mine who is also black said what did you just say? We was in disbelief. Another friend asked us to let it go so that we may finally head out to the trip. But little did we know that would not be the end of it. After a long day of snowboarding me and my classmate that was sitting in the back decided to return our rentals early and wait on the bus so that we don't have to wait in line going into the bus while everyone is there. He purchased a sandwich, left it on his seat and went to the bathroom, i stayed on the bus to get my belongings in order. One of the females that was a part of the racist group gets on the bus as well, comes to my face and says we are sitting in the back. I said no, we all have our bags on the seats that we sat in since the morning don't get mad because you aren't getting it your way. She says we are sitting in the back, then she takes my classmates sandwich and throws it on the floor (pieces are all over the floor). I'm thinking to myself...wow. I didn't come after her, I wanted my friend to do that. People started coming on the bus and they knew about the tension from the morning, they asked who's sandwich is that, I said Billy's, Samantha threw it on the floor because I didn't let her take our seats and billy doesn't know yet. Everyone knows that this is what's going to spark something. When Billy comes I told him what happened. So when everyone else comes on board (no teachers yet) Billy asks Samantha, why did you throw my sandwich on the floor. Then her, lauren, megan & joe started to say derogatory racial insults (never said the N word) and it was on, shouting and it was borderline about to get physical at this point in time the 3 teachers was on board and heard everything and decided to do NOTHING. Nothing at all, until classmates and a few others begged us to be the bigger people. We dropped it decided to sleep it off while we returned home. Just to be woken up to more racial slander. People this story is not over exaggerated, it's 100% true and its sickening. Thank god I'm not a violent person, thank god I can keep a solid composure in most situations, but can you guys understand the anger people of not just the black community, but the Jewish, Asian, Hispanic, Indigenous and etc community. To add insult to injury they were Italian, and if history serves me right... Italians and the Irish were HARSHLY discriminated against upon their arrivals to the US. I will never forget that day. #factsofmylife

Sort:  

Congratulations @rdrnd, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?