Black Christians bracing for a 'whitelash'

in #racism4 years ago

https://edition.cnn.com/2020/07/10/us/white-black-christians-racism-burke/index.html

Unfortunately, things are probably going to get worse before they get better.

I actually thought the article linked above was off to a good start, but then it seemed to kind of go down the rabbit hole of warning readers "not to vote for Trump --- or else!", which seemed a little unnecessary. I mean, I won't be voting for Trump, but that's neither here nor there.

This is actually a sensitive subject, and I do not look forward to talking about it, but obviously it needs to be done, so here it goes anyways.

I cannot speak for other white Christians, only for myself, but I've spent quite a bit of time trying to forge friendships across both culture and skin colour nearly my whole life, and it hasn't been easy. In my semi-useless personal experience, it's been much easier for me to forge relationships with fairly recent immigrants than it has been with those who have been in this country for awhile (the only exception to that is maybe when trying to create relationships with Asians, where the situation has actually been reversed for some reason).

I've had some successes, I'm not going to lie, and I know some of my failures occurred because not everyone is actually meant to be my friend anyways.

I don't pretend to know all the answers, but one thing that has been hard for me is dealing with the "certainty" among some POC that nearly every negative thing they've experienced in America has been the result of being African American or Latino, or whatever and not poverty.

Let me preface this by saying that I believe racism is still definitely a thing, but I've been poor going on fifteen years now and have so many similar experiences. Trying to tell a POC who is convinced that "every" bad thing that has happened to them is likely a result of racism, that at least "some of it" is probably just ordinary discrimination against the poor, will often earn you the retort that you've just been blessed by "white privilege", (which I believe in btw - and believe I have benefited from on some issues, despite my abject poverty).

I don't intend to depict stereotypes here, just personal experiences, and I know you can't speak for others, but on the issue of race relations, how do I engage someone "like this", who is convinced nearly every bad thing in their life is a result of racism, and not potentially, in part, other factors?

My experience is they won't listen, which is fine. I'm not master of their opinions, only my own, but it really is a barrier that I'm not quite sure how to overcome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75