You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What should "liberty and justice for all" mean if IQ varies significantly by race and gender?

in #racism6 years ago

I don't think you answered my questions. IQ measures one kind of intelligence. Are you saying there is only one intelligence than? In other words - it's ok to be a psychopath, as long as you have high IQ... Also it's better for any employer, no matter what the job is, to employ a psychopath with high IQ, than really nice person, reliable, friendly, with lower level of IQ.. this is what you actually saying.
I feel like I am repeating myself and we are not going anywhere with it.. By the way, scientists are again mostly western white man, ruled by left brain so it doesn't really helps. And no, I have no intention of reading it - again because IQ doesn't interest me that much. I might read about emotional intelligence though.. more interesting for me.

Sort:  

I'm not saying any of that. What I am saying is that "intelligence", defined as general mental aptitude, i.e. how well and how quickly the brain processes stimuli, does definitely vary by race and that these difference in the average intelligence of races is partly genetic.

"Intelligence" has a particular meaning that is reflected in the various ways that it is measured. For example, some studies use simple nonverbal tasks that all children find easy and that all children complete in about one second. Those studies measure "reaction times" and "movement times" and find statistically significant differences across race. The nature of what is being tested is very closely related to the number of neurons in the brain, how quickly they fire, and how complex the folding of the brain tissue is. These tests are measuring the performance of the brain at such a "low level" that the race differences have implications for all of the nine kinds of "intelligence". The tests are not culture biased and are not verbal or language biased.

What I think is happening here is that you really don't want to accept the hypothesis that the data seem to be supporting. That's ok. I'm just here for pleasant conversation. But if you wanted to "go somewhere further" with this, the next step would be for you to take a look at enough of the article to see for yourself the nature of the evidence and form your own opinion regarding whether the authors are biased.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.21
ETH 3068.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81