You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Does 'Reverse Discrimination' Exist?

in #racism8 years ago (edited)

That "Dear White People" movie was funny, although that character was contemptible, but so close to reality for the mixed-race person who has to overcompensate one way or the other. I've seen it over and over.

Growing up as one of 2% white minority in a 95% black Caribbean country with 100% black government and zero representation of whites in any public offices [except for one policeman!] I just have had a much different experience than... i think... most white people in the West.

Discrimination of course happens in this context. I don't think we can claim to be the dominant group here although most of us are middle and upper middle class and tend to have a big focus on entrepreneurship and business. Given the type of enterprising people that came here willingly, it would make sense that the descendants would be focused on business.

I don't know what it's like in a white majority country, that hasn't been my experience. We tend to get overlooked in the whole 'white people are xyz' thing.

Race and racism is such a contentious topic, it's rarely fruitful over the internet, but I love to talk about it 1on1 in person with people. It's something that I've had to deal with most of my life, being the odd one out most of the time.

Sort:  

Very interesting to hear about a different experience.

I wrote a bit about my experience here a month ago. It's passed the payout time, so that's not what my sharing it is about, if you're interested in that different experience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65853.52
ETH 2697.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86