This happened in South Africa around 1971

in #racism7 years ago

In Honduras we have a department (state) called the Bay Islands, these islands were first inhabited by people who came from Cayman they were of English or Irish descent, they apparently didn't like the huge amounts of mosquitoes and sand flies in Cayman and preferred to come to Honduras to get bitten by the types of mosquitoes and sand flies we have here, this was around 1830. In fact these Bay Islands and the Mosquitia area became dependencies of the United Kingdom until around 1860 when they were returned to Honduras. Now these people remained English speakers and you find a lot of red people, I mean like Paul Scholes there. In the early 1900 the banana companies brought black people from Jamaica for qualified jobs like carpenters, masons etc, many of these guys moved to the Bay Islands as it was easier for them there as English was spoken, so the area is very diversified. So that is a short history of the islands. 

The story I am going to tell you happened to a guy from Utila, the smallest of the islands, around 1971, in those days most 18 year old islanders opted for shipping out, this guy whose last name was Flynn shipped out and the ship he was on eventually ended up in Durban, South Africa, well my friend decided to go out and see the city, he stopped at some kind of shop and took a soft drink and started talking with the guy at the store, eventually he decided he needed to take a leak so he asked were the rest rooms where. The guy told him they are in the back, so he went there (this guy knew nothing about apartheid,) so when he got to the rest rooms he found out there were three of them, one for whites, one for coloreds and one for blacks. 

Well he told me he started thinking my hair is curly and black so I could go to the black rest room, but also as he was heavily tanned he could pass for colored but remember he is a Flynn so he is actually white. Now he was in a real quandary and the only thing he could think of and what he did was go back to his ship and stay on it.

Sort:  

When I saw your post picture in my feeds, I got really dissapointed.
I am a white South African, born in 1980. Yes, my ancestors were racists, but I need to clarify this. In politics there is only a few who need to drive a cause, and the few can et it right using fear, so not nearly all whites were racists.

However, I wasn' part of that as I was a baby at the time, yet, today white males experience their own racism, yet the media don't say anything about that.

Having said the above, South Africans, are people who want to move forward, hence why we could get to a point of 1994 reconciliation.
For this, it was difficult seeing your post picture, as I hate seeing people, especially those who dont know nothing about SA politics, to comment on it.

Your post however was on the lighter side and wasn't anything I expected. For this I gave you an UPVOTE.

Actually in the late 1970's I used to write to RSA The Voice of South Africa, they sent me pennants, QSL cards, magazines and even a course for learning Afrikaans. I really have no idea what it was like, so it's not likely I would comment on it, what I wrote on the other hand was a real event and I don't think it is offensive to anyone, and if it is, that wasn't my intention, I was trying to write something at least a little funny.

they fixed that apartheid thang.
South Africa is doing
GREAT
right now.

LOL... man oh man.

I recommend reading Hello Nazis and Racists. Think it will speak to you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63432.48
ETH 3063.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81