My Experience Living As A Black Woman In The USA -- My MLK Jr Day Post

in #racism5 years ago

So I was supposed to post this yesterday in conjunction with the MLK holiday, but I literally could not think of what to write. Today, I decided to just put my pen to paper and write about what I feel. We were supposed to write about our experience being black in this country. So here goes....
The situation that's going on with my daughter is the biggest example of racism that I have experienced in my WHOLE ADULT LIFE. My 1 year old was born at 28 weeks. She has a heart condition called truncus arteriosis. She has already survived 2 surgeries. Now we are fighting the system just to be able to be parents. I am the only one that works due to the workers compensation system screwing over my husband. He got hurt on the job, but because the system is corrupt, they said he was filing a fraudulent claim even though he suffered a permanent injury and the company he was working for was responsible for his injury.

Our daughter has teh same condition that Jimmy Kimmel's son has. But because we are not the same color as Jimmy Kimmel nor do we have Jimmy Kimmel's money, my sweet innocent baby girl has spent the whole first year of her life in the hospital instead of being at home being loved and spoiled by her family. For some reason, because we are poor, the hospital thinks it is better for strangers to raise my daughter than her own family. People will pay millions of dollars to keep Brown people out of our country, but I can't get people to help us get $5000 so we can get our baby home. I don't think this is the kind of thing Dr. King would have wanted for this country. Thanks for reading this unusually long post from me. Here's the link to Kaylie's fundraiser. Please share if you can't donate...https://www.gofundme.com/get-kaylie-home

Sort:  

Congratulations @deannatroupe! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello @deannatroupe! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57908.48
ETH 2913.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61