#Tasty-Food - What will we taste today?

in #qurator6 years ago

HERE you can read what we ate last week.

Tasty food is hard to find, make and buy if you have less money to spend.
Of course it depends on your personal taste what is called "tasty".
My kids do have taste, but do not care if they need to eat French fries daily or pancakes.

Yesterday morning they forgot to take something to eat with them to school.
They do not have breakfast at home. So their first meal was at about 3 pm.
It was my monthly shopping day yesterday and I bought some frozen pizzas with chocolate. The youngest liked to try it, if I could miss the money, so I fulfilled her wish. Already the smell of it made me feel sick. I did not eat it.
They ate it. It is hard to say if it was tasty, but I do not think I will do them a favour if I buy it again.

This morning I gave both 2 slices of "ontbijtkoek" which they can eat at school at about 9 am.

Ontbijt (breakfast) koek (cake) is typical Dutch.
You can buy it in one piece or in slices, with or without sugar candy.
As I was a kid it was very common to eat a slice of it on your bread (instead of cheese, pindabutter or chocolate sprinkles).

It also does taste great with some (real) butter on it. (I never buy the fake butter there is nothing healthy in it and trans fats are still allowed over here.).
You can eat "ontbijtkoek" whenever you like, it does not only taste during breakfast time.
Some people say it is a great help with the digestion and it will activate the intestines. I have big doubts about that since it is mainly flour and sugar. I only buy it about twice a year.

For dinner we will have pancakes.
We is the kids. I do not like pancakes. In Holland we do not eat them for breakfast, it is dinner.
There are pancake restaurants everywhere and they serve different kinds of topping. "Stroop" and sugar is common, but you can also eat them with: bacon, ham, mushrooms, cheese, marmelade, applesauce, nutella, cocoa, banana, fruit, etc. etc. The pancake improved, it is more like a pizza nowadays.
If you have some spaghetti sauce and pancakes left over you have a great meal for the next day.

The taste of the Dutch "Stroop" is different from the German or American one.

I bake with at least 2 pans since it is hard for me to stay long plus I get bored while waiting. Our pancakes are not brown or black, it is unhealthy to eat food like that.

pancake with banana

Dutch pancakes served in a restaurant are large (15-16 inches) and thick. Useally 1 is enough for a meal (for kids are smaller) you are seldom able to roll it up (it is common to do it and eat it that way).

How I make my pancakes.
I use: oats, water, a bit salt and some flour. If you can not eat flour you need to use eggs instead.
So I do not use milk, eggs, butter and baking flour. There is no need to do so.

  • I use the whole oatmealflakes, put them in a bowl and add water to it. I leave it that way for some time (hours if you like, if you do that you have your homemade oatmeal milk). There is no need to make flour out of the oatmeal first.
  • I add some salt (I bought the one they added iodine to it).
  • Before I start baking I add flour as much as needed to make a homogeneous batter out of it. It should not be too thin and also not too thick. Lets say a bit thicker as soup.
  • Bake the pancakes at both sides in some oil. It might take a bit longer as you are just to. I lf it takes you too long use 2 pans or more.

Pancakes are usually eaten warm. A restaurant will never serve you a cold one.

pancake with cheese

My favorite pancake is the one with banana (it reminds me of baked banana) and the one with bacon and ham or bolognaise sauce made by me.

All pictures are made by me.
If you like to join the #Tasty-Tuesday -competition too have a look at @qurator.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Tasty ! I always have trouble about what to eat for breakfast

Posted using Partiko iOS

We seldom have breakfast and if it is a late one and we eat whatever we feel too. It can be a cooked meal too

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61083.24
ETH 2670.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61