Tasty Tuesday 60 - #Sauerkraut

in #qurator6 years ago

I wonder what you ate today. We usually have 2 meals a day. Sometimes I have 1, sometimes the kids have 3. One meal is a cooked one, the other one can be fruit, yoghurt, "ontbijtkoek", cereals or a granola bar.
This meal did cost me about 3 euro.

We ate sauerkraut with mashed potatoes, rookworst (smoked sausage) and gravy.

The sauerkraut is the last package I have.
You better not leave me alone with it or I eat it all by my own.
No need to cook it first for me. I will not wash it before warming up it a little. The idea of sauerkraut is that you eat acid (vinegar) cabbage. I know in some countries they wash it several times and cook it for 1 hour or longer.
If you eat it like that, do not buy sauerkraut but white cabbage instead.

The "rookworst" (smoked sausage) is popular in Holland.
You can buy it vacuum packed so it can be saved for a long time. It is pork meat (not so great if you have skin problems better not eat it). I did cut it in slices and heat it up in a spicy gravy.

There is a department store named Hema famous for its "rookworst". You buy half a sausage and eat it for a snack (with or without mustard). My granny bought it as we stayed over at her place and went to the big city.

Mashed potatoes, sauerkraut and baked bacon (I have none so we ate it without it) are all stirred together so you make a stew out of it (we call it "stamppot").
In the middle you make a hole and put the gravy and sausage into it.
I did not use salt, the mashed potatoes was already with nutmeg (they say too much nutmeg will make you high. I tried it out, it does not work for me) and the gravy is spicy too.

School gave all kids a pizza with chocolate (brand Dr. Oetker).
I guess a shop or factory gave it since the expiration date was Januar 2019.
We once ate it to try it out and all 4 of us were not enthusiastic about it (not about the taste and the price).
Well it now it means the kids have an extra bite for two days. You cannot be picky if you live in poverty.

By the way: it turned out most children did not like this pizza.

The bottom of the pizza is also "chocolate" coloured. Pity it does not taste like chocolate at all.
All together it is unhealthy for sure and just like my youngest I wonder if the name "Dr. Oetker" is used to fool people, to make them think they eat something healthy instead of chemicals.

All pictures are made by me.

This is my entry at the #tasty-tuesday-challenge. If you like to join too see @qurator.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Chocolate pizza that doesn’t taste like chocolate ? I’m sure the kids were disappointed.

All the kids were. Slice of (toast) bread with chocolate sprinkles or nutella is cheaper and does taste better

Posted using Partiko Android

I ate a mac today because I was driving buying things for someone and I have it all now. Yeah I know.... But still I'm not far above my budged of 20 euro for food a week.

Posted using Partiko Android

Why not making your own sandwiches and take them with you?
Still too busy to live?

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes but it was supper and I was hungry. 🙈

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61236.82
ETH 2672.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61