BIP 1.3 Improvement suggestions

in #qurator7 years ago

Hi everybody, Qustodian here.

Status Updates

  • There has been a suggestion to increase the timer on a post so that Qustodian does not immediately vote within a 10 minute window, but wait until the post is a specific age. Currently I am thinking of letting the bot wait 25 minutes before allowing an upvote.
  • The option of changing payouts to Qustodian to be every 24 hours. This is to give me a day to fix issues in future instead of every 8 hours. So any changes in code does not impact on payouts.
  • Any arguments for/against or appeals, in the comments below or discord please.

    Feature requests

    If there is,

  • anything you would like to see in Qustodian,
  • improvements you believe could be made,
  • initiatives from Qustodian or qurator
  • Please let us know in the comments below or on discord.

    Qustodian

    Sort:  

    I have added a trail survey, so everyone can take part and vote on the current future changes.
    https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/F67HYDV

    Please drop a response on agreement or disagreement

    I think instead of adding a time decay, it will be good to decrease the return accordingly. Not everyone uses the bot in first 10 minutes of publishing. So bot earns a curation from those who use it late anyway. But if the bot wants to earn on curation reward too, you will need to increase the return on vote value to justify the bot use. Currently 2.65x upvote makes sense only when used in first 10 minutes. With the new rules, I'll have to wait for something like the next Christmas or New Year offer or until the time market prices get stable.

    It's not the curation reward that let me consider it, it is the ability of others to frontrun the bot. The curation reward SP is abysmal these days anyway. The 2.65 offer provides your SBD spent back and you get the Steem power earned for free. How would you like to improve the offer?

    Well, then it's great (I don't know how substantial the SP gain would be by front-running qustodian though)!

    I always love to get my posts upvoted as soon as possible to gain some visibility in hot list section, if it could be possible. But if it's just to earn Steem, I'd prefer to get an upvote just 13 hours prior to the payout time. But then it just becomes a money making machine and frankly, I won't make any serious effort to use this bot on all my posts. But yeah, it's my personal preference and may not be true with all other members. Make the changes and test it for some time. If it gives better results then let it be.

    I understand. The idea behind the 2.65 multiplier is to give Qurites free visibility. I had though it people knew that an upvote bot was coming through and the rewards were decent they would try to snipe some votes. Granted the upvote isn't insanely large and its not meant to be.

    For me I buy an upvote for Qustodians posts via q2d2, but normally give people a 24 hour window to upvote to earn some rewards. Granted I am not trying to get on the hot list.

    I like your suggestion about trying it out, I can always ask in a month if this change should be reverted. The changes should be for the good of Qurites, not the bot. Thanks for your input, appreciate it

    Well, I wanted to point out that it won't make any difference to front-runners if I get my post upvoted on the 6th day ...the time when most of the bigger votes are already cast by then. So if benefit to front-runners is the goal, I'd recommend them to frontrun Qurator bot instead. But if you want to make qustodian bot too available for front-running then you can also put a condition like "it cannot be used after 60 minutes of publishing".

    BTW, I don't see this post updated by that anonymous survey link being talked about in group discord. Where can I find that?

    It's at the top, the one with the most upvotes

    letting the bot wait 25 minutes before allowing an upvote,
    That's what I usually do.
    As for the time of payment - it's a great idea 24 hours.

    Thank you, appreciate the support

    It's the least I can do for your excellent service @qustodian

    Agree with @nirgf on timing, sounds good @qustodian only way you find out is to test.

    I suppose it would be either to hard programmatically or confusing for users to put a minutes delay in the memo field. So the contents of the memo would be "YourPostURL 30" for a 30 minute delay. Defaulting to 0 minutes delay if left blank. That way those who want the immediate upvote can get it for hot list and those who want a delay to encourage front running could also have it.

    It is not too hard to program, you can have a "D30" in front with a space and the link. I thinking I may need to push the concept of a timer back until I have a better user interface for people to work with

    hey, I am currently delegating some SP to Qustodian, not much but some
    And I am getting the rewards 3 times a day, every 8 hours and while this is nice I do not feel it to be necessary and would be find if it was just once a day...
    So I would say, change the payout schedule, it will declutter my wallet anyway and the payout stays the same

    I already plan to do that. I need more time to fix problems. It is the second bullet in the post

    ah, sorry, I thought this was something you were asking our opinion on as it started with "option"

    I should have made it clearer. My bad

    How do I register?

    Talk to scrooger on steemit.chat or come to the discord server. The invite link is on steemit.com/@qurator post

    Hello. I translated to you by mistake 0.3 SBD to get an upvote from you. since I can not apply for upvote, I ask you to return my translation.

    Can I please request a review of my transaction/upvote history? I have noticed a few times that I am not getting partial refund transactions, and I'm not convinced the upvotes are coming through either.

    Thanks!

    I did a review and every link sent got voted on except the latest one. Previous votes were delayed due to node downtime, but they are there. I went back 7 days

    I am unsure why the latest entry got missed, it's not in my voting log at all, it got completely skipped like it was not there. I'll take a look, but it is highly possible I pinged the node when it was behind and responded when it caught up.

    These situations are really rare, but if you pick up anything like this happening again, please let me know.

    Thanks, I appreciate it. I did notice sometimes that the partial refund would come in a few hours later. I usually do bursts of promotion activity, so individual transactions can get a little lost in the shuffle at times. I'm glad to hear that all the older votes came through!

    Sure. I noticed that your latest upvote got missed. I will look into it further back

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.19
    TRX 0.16
    JST 0.030
    BTC 67010.34
    ETH 2604.31
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 2.72