BIP 1.1 Update on votebanksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #qurator7 years ago (edited)

Hi everybody, Qustodian here.

There was quite a lot of queries around the votebank empty error messages received where a vote should have been allocated.

Given the amount of queries I thought it prudent to write a new post that appears on everyone's feed.

The problem

The votebank code was increasing the votebank 24 hours from the last previous increase instead of at 0.00 UTC as it should have.
I have fixed this issue and gave everyone a free increase in balance as an apology. I would have preferred giving a vote, but I haven't implemented such a feature yet.

My apologies,
Qustodian

EDIT:

Seems there is still some confusion on how the votebank works so I will explain without using numbers.

What happened previously

You sent in a SBD amount, the bot then calculated a weight based on the voting power at that point in time using the formula explained here and upvoted your post.

What happens now

At 0.00 UTC the bot calculates a weight based on the voting power at that point and gives that weight to everyone. This is to counter the problem where some people were voting when VP was high and other when it was low.

This calculation happens everyday at 0.00 UTC which is just a standard point in time fair to everyone.

In addition to this, if you don't use this vote, it gets 'banked' to the votebank up to a maximum. So you can build up a huge vote or get smaller ones everyday.

Also if you send in a SBD amount smaller than your full votebank balance, you will still have some left over for other posts.

My votebank is empty when does it refill?

Given it refills at 0.00 UTC. Check your timezone relative to it. If you are UTC + 2, then you will refill at 2AM, if you are +5 then you will refill at 5AM and so forth. To be safe wait 10 minutes after the refill so the bot clears its previous run.

The bot is not doing what I am expected or what is explained

While I can provide explanations on Steemit, I would prefer if you pop by the discord channel there is a support channel for the bot. If you believe there is a bug please come let me know.

Qustodian :)

Sort:  

Great job and quick response tracking down those bugs and squashing them!

Thanks. I appreciate it

Thanks for the fix and the update! Much appreciated :)

Thank you, sorry for the small upvote, but with all the additional increases in the votebank I have given, the VP is gonna drop like a rock.

Yes, finally recevied the upvote. Thank you!

Now can I get an upvote again after 00:00 UTC or need to wait 22-24 hours from now?

It should be from 00:00 UTC.

Sorry, but I somehow can't find the numbers in your posts. How long does it take to fill the votebank from 0 to 100%?

Happens every day at UTC 0000, or 7PM CST - your balance will jump to 1SBD at that time.
It's not clear exactly what "1 SBD" means, since my transfers have been limited to around 0.07 to 0.13. My votebank is drained after that transfer

The balance does not increase to 1 SBD, I used 1 as an explanation because it avoids decimals in the explanation. At this point in time a 100% upvote is 0.72 SBD. This amount gets capped at that time according to the voting power the bot has. I will edit this post to provide a clearer explanation as it seems there is still confusion

To answer your question. It takes around 2 - 3 days. This is why: At 85% bot voting power at 0.00 UTC you get a 50% allocation, i.e. 50% of the max upvote of (currently) 0.72 SBD => 0.36 SBD. If the voting power is 90% at 0.00 UTC you get 66% allocation. The higher the VP at 0.00 UTC the more generous the allocation. This is to control voting power drain.

Conversely if voting power is at 80% you will get a 35% allocation.

Thanks for the clarification :)

I'm getting "qustodian transfer 0.500 SBD to randyw Refund-Full: Votebank empty.", even though my last vote was MORE than 24 hours ago and the clock has rolled through 0000 UTC. Is this a bug, or a "feature"?

It is most likely a bug. I have noticed some people are being dropped from the votes database, but I haven't been able to figure out why yet. You are most likely not the only one having this issue.
EDIT:
Fixed the issue and gave you a 50% allocation in the votebank

How do we determine our votebank allocation? It seems the only notification we get is after a vote - "Votebank balance is : 0.000"?

There is no way to currently to get it, except voting. I am working on a site where you should be able to see your balance among other things.

Thanks for the quick response (lol). I think the only thing missing would be THAT - if we could SEE our balance - for a more clear understanding of how it works.
Thanks again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49