Merienda (Snack) - What Is Your Preference? Sweet Or Salty?.....Tasty Tuesday #99

in #qurator5 years ago (edited)

f29jd5.jpg

Hello Dear Steemians!

It´s Tasty Tuesday once again and my entry is about snacks. Do you take a snack in-between meals? If yes, what do you normally eat?

I harvested the tomatoes one afternoon, the heat was unbearable so I prepared some sweet snacks with cold drinks. In my household, I always see to it that we have something to eat for a spontaneous snack. Either something sweet or salty, self-baked or bought, I have reserves in the fridge. You never know if visitors would surprise with a visit. It is seldom that we have a snack in the morning at around 10:00 AM as most people do. We are the afternoon type who would eat something in between lunch and dinner. In the afternoon, it is mostly sweets paired with a cup of coffee. As I do not drink coffee in the afternoon, I stock a couple of apple cider in the fridge, I love it very cold most especially in summer ´cause it simply quenches the thirst most. During winter, I love to drink hot tea either with milk or a sprinkle of lemon juice.

a75w1c.jpg)

Merienda

In my home country the Philippines, we have a tradition to eat Merienda mostly at around 3:00 PM. People who are on the road would simply buy food from a street vendor or get their burgers from burger shops.. The street food are more fun to get.... there are bananacues or sweet potatoes fried and coated with sugar or corn on the cob,fish balls and many more. You may eat what suits you.

lq50zq.jpg)

In Spain,The word merienda is also the spanish word for snack, they also call it bocadillo. The locals take their breakfast usually at 10:00 AM before they go to work...and when the works starts earlier , they would bring food to work and eat them at around 10:00 AM. The tradition is almost the same as in the Philippines since Filipinos also got the tradition from the spanish conquerors centuries ago.

25bnc4.jpg)

In Vienna.....

......the locals love brewed coffee, Latte Macchiato and Cappuccino or espresso, and the coffee shops in the city are famous for their pastries and cakes and other sweets they offer. Italy has big influence on Austria´s coffee culture since the two countries are neighbors..

z6jfpg.jpg
All images are my own and were taken by me

I hope you like the little story about my Merienda/Snacks.

Wishing you a lovely day/evening!

qlo1mu.gif
GIF by @gremayo

#palnet #neoxian #sweets

m6rhe9.png

Sort:  

Congratulations to the @qurator 1st place!

Thank you so much @qurator for choosing my entry ....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60061.12
ETH 3196.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45