Qurator's Tasty Tuesday #70 - 3 minute Bread in a Mug - Keto friendlysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #qurator5 years ago

One thing people who are on the Ketogenic diet really miss, is freshly baked Bread!

I found an easy solution and made a 3 minute Bread in a Mug using Almond Flour, Coconut Flour, Psyllium Husks, Almond Milk, Coconut Oil and an Egg.

IMG_20190330_085046.jpg

I made a Keto friendly sandwich with a bread in a Mug recently for @jaybird's Steemit Sandwich Contest, admittedly not your regular kind of sandwich though ;)

IMG_20190404_131631.jpg

The beauty of this is the speed in which one can put together a mini loaf of Bread - who does not enjoy a slice of hot bread with ice cold Butter?

IMG_20190329_134535.jpg

Or spread thickly with Full fat Cottage Cheese, homemade Liver Pate or a slice of Cheese.

IMG_20190329_134713-COLLAGE.jpg

The recipe

  • 1 Egg
  • 2 tbs Coconut Oil
  • 3 tbs Almond Flour
  • 1 tbs Coconut Flour
  • 2 tsp Psyllium Husk
  • 1/4 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1/4 tsp Salt
  • 1/3 cup Almond Milk
  • 1/4 cup grated strong Cheddar Cheese (optional)
  • Paprika for dusting baked bread

Place Egg & Coconut oil into mug & lightly beat with a fork
Add dry ingredients and almond milk and mix well
Lastly add grated cheese, mix and bake in microwave for 3-4 min (depends on wattage)
Loosen sides and turn out onto wooden board
Dust with Paprika and your mini Bread is done

IMG_20190330_082804.jpg

My very first little Bread in a Mug baked really funny with the top almost making it's own little hat; the bread inside was still perfect though:) The next baked beautifully, so I really don't know what happened ;)

IMG_20190330_083555-COLLAGE.jpg

IMG_20190404_125038.jpg

IMG_20190330_084109.jpg

Lastly as Easter is approaching and Hot Cross Buns are tempting all those on the Keto diet, here is a quick way to make a spicy Hot Cross Bun in a Mug: simply add Mixed Spice, Cranberries and approx 3 tsp Xylitol or other sweetener to the bread in a mug mixture. (I added a tiny bit of Turmeric as an experiment, but it's not necessary.)

IMG_20190412_070631.jpg

What better than a special Cappuccino to enjoy with freshly baked bread or a hot cross bun, I could not resist sharing this with you, it's a Hibiscus from a local coffee shop, definitely not from my kitchen ;)

IMG_20190330_163423.jpg

And some great advice in this doily that my cup was resting on ;)

IMG_20190330_200902.jpg

A quick look at the making of 3 minute Bread in a Mug.

IMG_20190329_134535-ANIMATION.gif

This has been my entry into the awesome @qurator's Tasty Tuesday #70 competition, hope you enjoyed my bread and I challenge the following foodie friends to enter, you don't even have to be a @qurator member - @proanima, @delishtreats and @breadbakers.

Qurator lizelle.png
Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


Steem Kitchen.gif
SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

Keto Friendly caught my eye! I definitely miss eating bread whenever I have the urge. That sandwich looks delicious and the bread seems easy to do . Thanks for sharing.

Wow that is one gorgeous cappuccino! 😮

It really is so quick and easy, my son had ordered a low carb cake in a mug for us and then I started thinking why not bread and experimented, it's a great bread replacement for those on Keto.
I've never seen a cappuccino like that one, was gorgeous!
Thank you for your feedback @crosheille!

Posted using Partiko Android

That was a brilliant idea and I’m glad you gave it a try!!

Ohhhhhh. I'm so glad you revisited this recipe because I made it yesterday!

Sorta. I still don't have any Psyllium Husk at home so I ground up two tsp of Quinoa. I also didn't have any Cheddar at home so used a 'Mexican Mixture' instead.

It was great. I made a couple of open faced tuna salad sandwiches and liked it!

Thanks Lizelle!

I'm so glad your bread came out nicely! The Psyllium Husk acts like gluten would, which is the glue that binds the Flour, perhaps Quinoa does the same?
I'm sure any cheese would do.
I made a pizza base over the weekend with Almond flour and it worked, but still does not give the nice crispy base one gets with wheat flour. I must try the real Fathead Pizza dough next time.
Thank you for your valued feedback @bigtom13 :)

I make a 'fathead' pizza about once a week. So far I have been topping the crust right out of the oven and sticking it back in. I think this week (maybe today) I'll bake the crust at breakfast time and let it sit until lunch time to cook it. I will drop the temp a little for the toppings.

@birdsinparadise suggests butter. I've tried it twice and really like it, it makes the dough easier to handle and spread. I also spray the crust with 'olive oil' spray before I bake it, seems to make it a little crunchier...

That's a great idea as the toppings make it kind of soggy, I like making my own tomato & onion sauce which is quite soppy. Thank you for the tips, will try it with butter also as our friend Mrs Bird is a very wise bird when it comes to cooking and baking ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

I am not doing keto but I do limit how much bread i have trying to loose weight, but I think I may just have to try this bread soon thanks for sharing the recipe

It's so quick and easy @tattoodjay, thanks for your feedback and support!

Posted using Partiko Android

I saw that seems to take very little time so well worth trying

Oh my goodness, I love this bread in a mug. I have to try it :) Keto friendly so your hubby is certainly pleased, what a treat :) You're a genius my friend!

Hubby misses having hot bread so I had to start experimenting, thank you for your lovely feedback my friend!

Posted using Partiko Android

does the coconut flour not make the bread dry ? Sounds delicious

Posted using Partiko Android

It did not have a chance to get dry as hubby ate it while it was still hot ;)
But I only used 1 tbsp coconut flour to 3 tbsp Almond flour, it does require extra liquid when it's being added.
Thank you for your valued feedback @aliciasteyn!

So healthy and delicious. You are a good chef Ma'am,,

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you sweet Olivia!

Welcome all the time

Posted using Partiko Android

It's looks yammy. 😄

Thank you!

Bread freshly baked looks good, tastes better, adding whatever you feel like on the day on top Lizelle.

Being a microwave oven bake that sounds even better for a quick fresh idea for lunch.

It was a nice quick one so even though I made it for hubby who is on Keto, I now know just how easy it is to make a bread in the microwave if there's none in the bread bin, nothing beats a hot slice of bread with butter oozing not so :)
Thank you for your comments @joanstewart!

With winter approaching nothing beats hot bread oozing fresh butter with a cup of soup for lunch (normally make a big pot or two of fresh vegetable soup.

Congratulations @lizelle! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 12000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 13000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Slobberchops from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62986.12
ETH 3072.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84