Qurator's Tasty Tuesday Challenge #90: Home Cooked Goulash with Noodles

in #qurator5 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians, this weekend has been a lot of celebrations from Malaysia's independence day and also Islamic New Year

Hence it's a long holiday (3 days in total) and home.

Since my parents are here staying with me, my mom has tirelessly taking care of my dad and prepping 3 meals during weekdays; so I have taken the liberty to try out home made (slightly twisted with self recipe) Goulash, a Hungarian dish that I tried when I was at Texingtal, Austria back in 2015.

Why my own recipe?

Goulash (especially Hungarian Goulash) has always been well known for its recipe using horse meat; but since I don't have that, I would have whatever I have been blessed lately, thanks to @gtpjfoodbank who has decided to share the remaining scattered frozen meat with its volunteers.

I have been trying very hard to practice to finish off at least 80% of my dry food storage and almost clear up freezer (except fruits and vegetables as they perish faster) before I visit the grocery story again, so I have attempted to use whatever I have, only to make this dish without visiting the grocer.

I am grateful that my mom got some extra garlic two days prior, so browning garlic and then add in the lean cut beef and some extra bacon strips was a lot nicer with fragrances.

Besides, Goulash is supposed to be cooked for hours for best results, so which ever meat I have it doesn't really matter (and lean hard meat seems to work much better especially with the collagen)

While letting my beef browning, I quickly peeled some skin off the carrot that I have...

While creating my own "beef stock" from the browning beef that I have with herbs and spices; dried thyme and mixed herbs.

While making stew my most favourite added vegetables are carrot and potatoes, but because my pot is small I only used 1 each would be more than enough in cubes.

Adding into something extra...

With all the meaty proteins going to add in, I have decided to add some vegetable based protein as well to make the entire stew more feeling. And with just 1 full (baking size) teaspoon of tri-colour quinoa, it was more than enough, ready for the 2nd stage of stock....

Yes, I have 2 stages of stocks... own made beef stock and vege stock

After the beef is well simmered and ready for the slow cooker from all the previous herbs, added with paprika, cumin and fennel.

Right after that first stage stew was transferred, I instantly caramelize the chopped onions.

And I added the rest of the chopped potatoes, carrots and in the end peas when it was already in a full boil for a while, with some help of Himalaya pink salt.

Once all is done, I added into the slow cooking pot and let it simmer for 3 hours in high heat then 3 hours in low heat.

By that time, the whole house was filled with so much fragrance, it's hard for everyone to sleep because it was cooking through the night.

I let it cool a bit until lunch time, and this was what it looked like before serving up to my parents.

And I still have enough to have 2 more servings for dinner.

Always love stew. It's a lot of work to prepare, but because it's a large pot, so it's great served for multiple meals and not worrying about cooking all over again.

How about you?

Have you done your very own Goulash version before?

by the way, I also did a heafty breakfast tryout before the Goulash in the afternoon with the remaining bacon I have... but that has to go to another posts!

Until then

mini-jess-smile-128.png
Thank You for Your Time

PS:


Please do help support me to fund my Steemfest4 trip this year as it is going to be so close by and I might not have that chance until another few years time!

You can read all about it, and I am not just begging for votes, I am offering my customised hand made cards so that you have something to bless someone else!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Hi @littlenewthings!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.043 which ranks you at #3856 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 62 places in the last three days (old rank 3918).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 117 contributions, your post is ranked at #69.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

That looks delicious!

Congratulations you just got a Q Token as reward for your quality content. Qurator team is always finding new ways to show love to our members and make them see how special they are to us! Thanks for being part of @qurator community! You can see your token in Steem Engine

Qgif.gif

Haha. Thank you @blacklux ! My parents loved it. That's a win-win for me.

(You know parents, they have a higher standard at most times when I am literally the worse cook in the family)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63330.76
ETH 3090.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80