(JaiChai) - "Opportunity Costs"

in #qurator3 years ago (edited)

GIF-210328_171109.gif

Running Validator Nodes and ASICs in the past, I can honestly say that (for me) maintaining them was not what I envisioned being "happily retired" was.

After a couple years of serving as a validator node for a couple of different projects and listening to the loud lawn mower sound of two Bitmain Z11 Ant Miners in my living room, I eventually grew tired of it all.

I resented having to keep an eagle eye on everything 24/7 and dealing with mysterious ISP and home internet issues, frequent power outages, recharging redundant electricity sources, low-end MTBF and replacing hardware way too often, etc.

You get the picture.

The thrill of learning new stuff and building systems was gone. Only the headache-inducing chores remained.

Finally I decided to stop.

The opportunity costs (the time that I could've spent on other, fun things) was just too great for me to continue those activities.

These days I gravitate more toward investing in stake pools, delegating my HIVE and Steemit power to Validators (witnesses), buying hash rate contracts, DeFi yield farming, etc.

In short, although I could probably do the work myself, I choose to simply pay others to do it - while I collect nominal ROI.

That said, after I buy another desktop or two, I may rent out extra storage capacity to projects like IPFS, FileCoin, Sia, Storj and Swarm.

I think watching my desktop running as my "maintenance check" for earning decentralized storage tokens would be something I'd be perfectly suited for.

In lak'ech, JaiChai.

GIF-210324_222419.gif

This is YOUR TORUM INVITATION

GIF-210309_113056.gif

JaiChai 3-31-2021. Simultaneous multi-site submissions posted. All rights reserved.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59