High Wire Act

in #qurator4 years ago

No! I didn't go to the circus but I did go outside and happened to notice this adventurous little squirrel on the utility pole in front of my house.

This is my entry for Qurator's Photo Friday Competition! You can read more about the competition and how to enter here!

hr4ayc.jpg

The above photo is also my entry for the Deranged Photography Contest - Wildlife Wednesday (Beginner Tier) which is hosted by @derangedcontests! You can read more about the contest and how to enter here!

The little squirrel started out on that pole and seemed very sure-footed and fearless as he (or she) scurried across the wire high above the ground. This is the series of photos that I took as he made his way to the next utility pole which was almost three houses up from me.

(some but not all of the following photos are blurry as he was a fast little critter)

vzhab2.jpg

On the next pole up and ready to hit the high wire again!!

zeh8ka.jpg

o8htsq.jpg

031f4t.jpg

Getting ready to jump and...

b5ip70.jpg

...he made it! He decided to jump to a tree. I wasn't so sure that he was going to make that jump but I'm pretty glad he did. He was so close to the third pole up but I guess he didn't want to go that far as there is a black walnut tree on this side of the poles!

qf8t63.jpg

7mox6f.jpg

Thank you @qurator!!
Thank you @derangedcontests and @derangedvisions!!

flby8g.png

63ruk1.png

anonyvoterlogo.JPG

a9085d.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Week 10 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory
!BEER
6

Thank you so much @pixresteemer and thank you for the brew as well!! 😋 😊

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Thank you very much @followforupvotes!! 🙂



Hey @deerjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Yum! Thanks so much @beerlover and @pixresteemer!! 😊

How adorable but seems dangerous!!! 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much @dkkarolien!! I held my breath when he went for that jump onto the tree. Luckily, he made it and the branch held. Watching him walk along the wires made me think he has suction cups on his feet..lol. 😁

Fantastic photographs of this high wire act ❤ @deerjay! :-)
The autumn colors behind him on the top photo sure pops
that squirrely guy!

Thank you very much @shasta!! I couldn't have asked for a nicer background on that one. 😊

Great shots! Quite the high wire act, Dee. Squirrels are agile but it looks scary on those wires. 🐿 ❤️

Thanks so much Jo!! I thought for sure that the branch would break or slingshot that squirrel when he made that jump but I'm glad it did neither..lol. 🙂

Howdy deerjay! Wonderful photos of the little guy, they're quite fun to watch and the amount of wires there is amazing!

Hi @janton and thank you very much!! Yes, they are and he or she was quite the agile little critter. Some places in Maryland have the wires underground but not near where I live. 🤨 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94