Rick Rule - Increasing your utility to others

in #quotes4 years ago (edited)

"When I was about 29 years of age, I was very concerned with making money and my sense of self worth was tied up around money. And my wife convinced me over a fairly brief period of time to stop worrying about that. To start worrying about generating utility for other people. Not how much I made but how much I could help other people make other people.

And she suggested to me that if I did something that I loved that I was competitive at and I didn't worry about making money I just worried about increasing my utility to others [...] That the rest would take care of itself.

And honestly [...] when I stopped worrying at all about making money and started worrying about how my professional career could benefit people that I was working for, my clients, things like that, within a quarter, within three months my fortunes changed dramatically.

The consequence of that is cumulative and compounding. You can't be a capitalist if you don't have capital. And the fact that I started making money allowed me to deploy more money at the same time that focusing on delivering value for others enhanced my reputation."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.50
ETH 3192.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45